Posted by: mick | July 7, 2008

Happy Monday

I’ve really been enjoying my time off lately, in case you haven’t noticed. I’ve cast-on for and finished an entire scarf in one week, been belly-dancing up a storm, and been running and biking outside.

I’ve been feeling the drive to try new things, and so I was really excited when Marcy announced her “Week of Happy” idea. Basically, the challenge is to do one thing that is creative each day, and have fun doing it! Each day you then have to blog about what you did.

Here is my first entry:

I’ve been trying to teach myself to crochet for a while, and nothing was happening. Then, today while fiddling around and waiting for my belly-dancing class, it just clicked. I made a lovely coaster from this pattern (scroll down for a photo; it’s not on Ravelry yet) in the new KnitSimple. So exciting! I just used yarns from my stash and chose colors that coordinated. I can’t even explain how exciting this is to me. I’m off to make more!

Before I go, though, I want to thank all of you that noticed it was my birthday on Ravelry yesterday. When I logged on, I had a bunch of messages with birthday wishes. Knitters (and crocheters/weavers/spinners) really are the best. You guys made my day 🙂

On a birthday note, I may have received a gift certificate to Stitching Memories from my fabulous future in-laws. In the interest of full disclosure, I should tell you that I’ve already spent said gift certificate.

Yarn diet? What yarn diet? Duh, gifts don’t count!


Responses

  1. Happy belated birthday and congrats on the crochet!

  2. Ooh, that’s a good idea. I’m not really officially joining the week of happy, but I did make a whole hat in one day and finished a book in two days. Those things make me happy!

    Love the blue and yellow combination.

  3. Oh, and Happy Birthday!

  4. Happy belated birthday!!

    I’ve been wanting to learn crochet, too. Maybe one of these days I’ll actually do it.


Leave a comment

Categories