Posted by: mick | July 8, 2008

WOH: Day Two

Today, I was creative in a whole new way. I’ve been trying to be better at exercising lately, and I’ve realized that I’m the type that needs a lot of variety. So today, instead of biking or running, I belly danced in the living room. For a half hour straight. I practiced the new drum solo routine I learned last night, then I improvised moves, practiced undulations, and basically had an all around good time. I’ve always wanted to take a belly dancing class, and this summer I finally signed up. I’m having the best time.

I also wrote and illustrated a children’s book…in my head. I came up with this idea randomly before bed last night, and I’ve been going through it all day mentally. That’s how I spent most of my creative energy.

Since I hate a post without pictures, I’ll show photos of the yarn I purchased with my birthday gift certificate. The day of one’s birthday (or the day after if your birthday falls on a Sunday, as did mine), you get 15% off at Stitching Memories. So you see why that gift certificate burned a hole in my pocket.

Inspired by Marcy’s push to be creative, I decided to buy some yarns for patterns that stretch my comfort zone a bit. First, I bought the following for Tempest, which will be my first cardigan.

Dream in Color Smooshy in November Muse and Chinatown Apple, respectively.

This yarn really is dreamy and smooshy; it’s new to the shop, and I practically snatched it out of Mary’s hands when she showed it to me. (Love that Mary; she owns Stitching Memories, and is absolutely the friendliest and most helpful yarn shop owner I’ve ever encountered. She’s just the best.). The colors are tough to photograph; each has the most amazing variation and is so subtly layered. Gorgeous.

Next up, I purchased the yarn for Colette by the esteemed Veronik Avery. I’ve been itching to try colorwork, and this pattern has been calling to me. I love the pattern, but I love the mental image it conjures even more. I think I’ll wear this and sip spiced cider by a fire at a fabulous ski lodge. Or, you know, in a cold classroom on a Michigan winter evening. Either way, it will rock.

Not one to stick to the pattern completely, I got the recommended yarn (Reynolds Whiskey), but tried two different colors. The green is tough to see here; it’s really that delicious, circa 1970s kitchen, pea soup green; that is the main color, and to contrast I’ve got a lovely, blackish color that has every color imaginable running through it. Lovely.

So that’s my creativity for the day. I like to think that dreaming about playing with new yarn counts. If not, I’m sure shaking my hips like a spazoid in my living room certainly does.

Responses

  1. I love that Chinatown Apple! I had a chance to stop by Stitching Memories when I was apartment hunting, and I almost bought that colour. I ended up going with Dusky Aurora, instead, though.

  2. it so counts! i had the same kind of creativity today, though not nearly so eloquent…
    shake it, mama!
    i love those colors & the names, especially november muse. isn’t it like christmas, having beautiful things to play with and wondering what they’ll become?

  3. Is your belly dancing teacher named Kim? If so–she’s a friend from my knitting group! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Happy Belated birthday! Lovely yarn – I just want to eat most of DIC’s colours. Can’t wait to see your Tempest!

  5. I love this idea! You’ve totally inspired me to skip going to the gym today and pull out the Dance Dance Revolution instead ๐Ÿ™‚

    And, happy belated birthday!

  6. Oooh, your new yarns look amazing! I love the colors. I can’t wait to see how they knit up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

