Posted by: mick | June 4, 2009

FO: February Lady Sweater (aka The Honeymoon Sweater)

FLS on the Charles

Pattern: February Lady Sweater by Pamela Wynne of FlintKnits

Yarn: Blue Moon Fiber Arts Luscious Single Silk in colorway Sapphire, almost 2 full skeins

Needles: Denise US 6

Notions: 3 pewter buttons from Stitching Memories

Began: April 23, 2009 ; Completed: May 10, 2009  (Ravelry project page here.)

Notes:  I was in the throes of wedding planning, with about 3 weeks to go, when I decided I absolutely had to have a hand-knitted cardigan to wear on our honeymoon.  I knew the evenings in Prague would be chilly, and that a store-bought cardigan wouldn’t do.  So, at the close of my semester and with 3 weeks until the wedding, I swatched as soon as I printed my last paper, and cast-on the following day.

neckline detailI followed the pattern pretty much as written.  I did, however, go down a needle size as this yarn seemed it would stretch (as noted by BlueGarter in her version).   I ended up knitting the XXS size for my M sized body, and I’m glad I gambled: the fit is quite nice, I feel, and it keeps on stretching each time I wear it.  I did away with the underarm stitches altogether to combat the bunching that happens there in a few FOs on Ravelry, and I’m happy with the fit.  I ended up knitting the pattern to my regular preferred sweater length of 22 inches, and it stretched even more.  I sort of like this length, though, as I’m short and short-waisted and this makes me feel a bit longer in the torso than I am.

I ended up liking the color of the yarn, which was initially a disappointment.  The variegation doesn’t distract from the pattern too much as it’s rather subtle, and the result reminds me of a sweater that a mermaid would wear.  You know, if she were chilly under water.

The yarn is lovely to work with, and the shine works nicely with these particular colors, lending to the overall watery impression it gives me.  It does, however, pill like crazy.  I was prepared for this since it’s a single, and I’m okay with it, but be forewarned.

button detailOverall this was a really pleasant knitting experience, and the pattern is well-written and very fun to knit.  I blocked it and picked up buttons right before my bridesmaids/mom arrived days before the wedding, and sewed on the buttons and packed it just in time.  (I love the buttons, by the way.  They’re so pretty!).  I wore the sweater happily the entire honeymoon long, and it’s reminded me just how much I love a good cardigan.  I feel this will get a ton of wear all summer, as well as during the fall.


Responses

  1. i love the idea of a chilly mermaid. this looks lovely on you — great color and fit. yay for cardigans!

  2. It’s gorgeous! That blue really suits you. And a Prague honeymoon–color me jealous!

  3. Don’t tell me…blue is one of your fav colors?!?! ;op

    Your Feb Lady sweater came out beautiful!!

    Luv your wedding quilt idea too!!!

  4. You look so beautiful and happy in that photo! Love the sweater and the wedding photos and all your crafty ideas — can’t wait to see all the pics! Congrats to you & Jason!

  5. Your first modeled FO as a married woman! It looks great, I think your yarn choice was a good one. Looks like you had good weather too for your honeymoon – lucky you!

  6. I’ve already told you this on Ravelry, but that color looks stunning on you. You look so lovely and happy! Congratulations!

    Those buttons are really, really pretty, too.

  7. Wow!! That is so pretty!! I actually really like the color. Congrats to finishing it in time. I am using the yarn for Clapotis, isn’t it to nice and soft!

  8. Gorgeous. And I am so impressed by how little time it took you to accomplish it!!! You must have been a knitting fiend. The fit looks wonderful, and you couldn’t have picked a more fitting color–bravo!


Leave a comment

Categories