Posted by: mick | May 16, 2008

Swappity goodness

A few weeks ago, I signed up for something I said I’d never do. It was a decision I wrestled with but, in the end, I decided to just go for it. I participated in my first swap!

Casey at Casey’s Musings was organizing this swap, and I really liked the idea. She called it “Creative Cacophony,” and to be in it you only had to send someone a mix cd of songs that make you feel creative. This idea appealed to me so much; I love making mix tapes. (Yes, I know it’s a cd, but I’ll always call it a mix tape.) I put together a mix of most happy, mostly female sung songs for my partner, Marcy, and knitted up a little cd cozy for it.

A few days later I received the package from Marcy, and holy creativity, Batman! Look at this package, it’s just gorgeous!

The package was wrapped so beautifully, and the contents didn’t disappoint. Marcy included a delicious Black Cat candy bar, which was quite possibly the best chocolate bar I’ve ever had. Dark chocolate + espresso = oh my. It was wrapped in a pretty clipping from an Anthropologie catalog.

Even the cd jackets were gorgeous! I’ve listened to both mixes through several times, and the music is fantastic. There are a lot of artists that I’ve been meaning to check out, so it was perfect. Thanks, Marcy! You rock.

The soothing nature of the cds definitely came in handy, as I’ve been trying to sew. The key word here is trying, as I’m running into some issues. I’m a newbie seamstress at best, and this was supposed to be the Mother’s Day gift for my mom and J’s, but alas. The thread keeps bunching up on the back of the fabric, and I honestly am at a loss. I’ve checked the bobbin, checked the manual, checked the trouble shooting section in my noob sewing guide and, seriously, I’ve whacked the machine about twenty times in frustration. Can anyone help? Marcy, I’m looking at you. (Seriously, go look at Marcy’s blog. She is so creative, and her sewing? Just lovely.)

And now for something random: Amidst all this frustration, I’ve been biking to work a few days a week, and I love it. Last night we saw Iron Man, and it was so good. I really love summer blockbuster season. I also love that Robert Downey Jr. Also, I’m heading to a new craft night tonight. Also? Haircut!

I was trying to grow it out for the wedding, but then I remembered that I hate my hair long. It seemed silly to suffer for a year, and then wear it up (which makes me look like a first class goober anyway). So, so long, long hair! I’m going for a classic 40’s, retro screen siren look for the wedding (can I do that?), and I figure some pin curls or something and I’m set.

In other news: we get married ONE YEAR FROM TODAY. Words can’t describe how excited we both are. I wish it were tomorrow.


Responses

  1. LUV the haircut!!

    Ooh pin curls would be so FLY!

    Happy Anniversary Mick!!! :oD

  2. Love the haircut… very cute!

  3. Absolutely LOVE the haircut. Very chic. x

  4. I’m also a total newbie with the sewing machine, but I’ve found that when the thread bunches up at the back of the fabric I usually need to change my needle. I’m not sure if the needle gets dull or bent or what, but I can’t tell you how many times I have adjusted the tension/cleaned the machine/reironed my fabric only to have a new needle instantly fix everything. So, try that! Good luck!

  5. okay, is it totally pretentious of me to say that this is such a happy post?! i’m not even talking about my goodies, i mean, biking, iron man, impending wedding, newbie sewing, and your haircut is to DIE for.

    i’m about to tag you for a book meme (don’t worry, VERY tiny tag), and i came over to be sure you haven’t been tagged for it already. such a cool saturday surprise to see our swap here! i’ve been wanting to post yours, but i’m trying to figure out how to include snippets of the awesomely happy mix tape (oh yeah, that phrase shall never die)…

    hmmm… i’m trying to remember what kind of machine you have. definitely change the needle like robin suggested, and make sure you’re using the right needle size for the type of fabric you’re using. if the thread is bunching up underneath the fabric, it might mean there’s a problem with the bobbin. is your bobbin wound too tightly, or uneven, or too loose? it should look like a nice little mini spool of thread. your bobbin tension could also be off… email me your machine type if you have time and we’ll try to figure it out! i’m still sewing my mama’s day gifts too 🙂

  6. Hey Mick! That sounds like an awesome swap. I, like you, have been holding off on the swap issue, but if I knew about this one I think it would have been my first too. Your hair looks way cute, You could definitely pull of that look – for real!

    Anyhoo, I had the same problem when I started sewing. Did you try turning your wheel until the point of the needle is in your fabric? If not, give that a try. Of course, make sure your needle peddle is down. Right before you are ready to step on your peddle to sew, turn the wheel so your needle point is in the matersial, then step on the peddle, it should help. If I remeber, you said that you received a hend-me-down machine and my first machine was purchased by my husband at a local thrift store and he cleaned it and oiled it and it worked perfect except for the fact that I had to do the needle thing. My husband actually figured that out! Good luck and let me know how you make out!

  7. Oooh, I love your haircut! Your hair looks very nice short.

    I am a total sewing newbie, too (but I’m trying to become less of one!), so I have no suggestions for you on that front. Good luck with it!

  8. Yay! New haircut too! Looks great *^_^*

  9. Cute new ‘do!

    Isn’t biking to work so fun?

  10. I LOVE the short hair! Totally suits you! Who says you have to have long hair at your wedding?!?!


Leave a comment

Categories