Posted by: mick | July 27, 2012

FO: Pi Shawl Baby Blanket

Pattern:  Pi Shawl by Elizabeth Zimmerman

Yarn:  Cascade 220 Superwash Paints, 2 skeins, plus about 1/2 a skein of brown leftovers of regular 220 Superwash for the edging

Needles: US 10  Circulars

Began:  June 11, 2012 ; Completed:  July 5, 2012  (Raveled here.)

Notes:  I always feel badly for the second born in the gift department; the first baby gets a whole shower’s worth of stuff, but the second baby has to do with hand-me-downs.  There’s just as much love and excitement, but I think each baby deserves a handknit, too.  When I found out my brother-in-law and sister-in-law were expecting our second nephew, I knew I wanted to knit him a blankie.  There’s just something sweet about a newborn baby wrapped in something snuggly and woolly, and I thought this yarn would be nice and sophisticated instead of sugary sweet.  The yarn, while lovely in color, drove me crazy; I tried several patterns before deciding to try the shawl out.

Boy, am I glad I did; I just knitted until I ran out of yarn, then added a garter stitch knitted-on border.  The border was a bit of a pain; I had to rip back three times and make it narrower because I kept running out of yarn.  Eventually, I sucked it up and bought another skein in a different dye lot, and though the colors are slightly different, I doubt the baby will notice.  As usual, Elizabeth Zimmerman knows her stuff, and I think this will become my go-to baby blanket pattern.  Next time, I may add some lace or more YOs, but I’m happy with the simplicity of this one.

Our newest nephew was born about a month ago at the whopping size of 10 pounds and 11 ounces, which means I’m pretty pleased I blocked the blanket out before sending it.  That is one big baby!  He sure is cute, though, and J and I can’t wait to meet him.  I hope you enjoy your blankie from Auntie Mickles, not-so-little one!  It is filled with love to hold you over until I get to snuggle you in person.

Responses

  1. Auntie Mickles. LOVE. This is stunning, Mick. I wish I knew what about half the technical words in here mean, but I’ll settle for knowing how much love this blanket is bound to get.

  2. This is so pretty! I love the variegated yarn with the simple pattern. He’s a lucky nephew, indeed!


Leave a Reply

Categories

