Posted by: mick | July 8, 2012

FO: Northern Loop

Pattern:  Northern Loop by Tante Ehm

Yarn:  Juniper Moon Farm Chadwick, about 1.5 skeins

Needles: US 8 Denise circulars.  (I remembered!  In your face!)

Began:  May 29, 2012 ; Completed: June 7, 2012 (Raveled here.)

Notes:  I know it’s hard to think about the impending winter when it’s this hot out, but I tend to have the opposite reaction during the summer.  Instead of working on summer knits, all I want to do in the summer is enjoy the a.c., do some knitting with some really woolly yarn, and dream of colder temps.  For my MIL’s birthday (yes, this was really late; I’m kind of the worst), I knew I wanted to use this yarn.  It is just wonderful: super soft, very lofty, and the colors are gorgeous.  My MIL rocks a bright color like nobody’s business, so I knew this pink was perfect.

I wanted an infinity scarf pattern with a tiny bit of lace, and this pattern was perfect.  The YOs and K2TOGs look almost sculptural in this yarn, and the pattern was really easy and fun to knit.  My only complaint is the kitchener at the end; it doesn’t look right with the lace stitches, so if I had it to do over again, I’d start and end with a plain knit or purl row.  It would make the seam a bit more visible, but it’s worth it to have it line up correctly.

This was sent off after Jakey and I had a modeling session, and my MIL texted me photos the night she received it of her wearing it by the fire.  Ah, the joys of living in the far north.  I can’t wait for chillier weather here, but I’ll probably have to wait until November.  Until then, it’s all about the air conditioning.

Responses

  1. So pretty! The color is lovely … and I’m so with you on the a/c: it’s the best part of summer.

  2. Oh, that’s very pretty! I love all the texture.

    I’m not a huge summer person, so working away on woolly projects in air-conditioned comfort really appeals to me. That said, this summer I’ve been spending a lot of time outside puttering around in the garden despite the record high temps. It has been YEARS since I’ve had a proper garden, and I’m loving it.

  3. I thought this looked familiar, and then I realized that I had queued it to make for my sister for Christmas! You know what they say about great minds… yours came out great and I love the bright color. I hope these long cowls never go out of style because they’re so perfect.


Leave a Reply

Categories

