Posted by: mick | November 6, 2011

FO: Laudine

Pattern: my own, loosely based on Yvaine by Liz Abinante

Yarn:  My own handspun two ply fingering weight fractal striped SW Merino/Tencel 50/50 blend.

Needles:  Addi Lace US 5

Began:  August 30, 2011; Completed:  September 23, 2011 (Raveled here.)

Notes:  I finished this yarn when we were in the process of buying our house and preparing for the move, and I’m suprised that it came out as well as it did.  Maybe all the stress helped me feed the fiber evenly?  It’s definitely the most evenly spun yarn I’ve created, so I wanted it to be something special.  I knew that such soft yarn would feel great around my neck, and so I set out looking for a shawl pattern.

I had about 420 yards of fingering weight, which meant a shawlette would work, but I wanted something simple that would show off the fractal stripes rather than distract from them.  I really liked the Yvain shawlette, but I changed a lot, so I’m calling this Laudine (Yvain’s long-suffering wife for my medievalist readers).

Here’s what I did:  Stockinette sections separated by seed stitch, but I allowed the seed stitch to get smaller and the stockinette larger with each repeat.  So basically: 22 rows st and 8 seed; 30 st and 6 seed; 38 st and 4 seed; then one last really big section of stockinette (I didn’t count).  I finished with a seed stitch border and did a nice, stretchy bind off so I could use every last bit of my yarn.

The finished shawl is really tiny, so I’ll wear it as a scarf.   It is so so soft, but I’ve noticed that it doesn’t stay put on my neck like my other shawls, probably due to the tencel making it so smooth.  I need to get a nice, wooden shawl pin, stat.  The shawl was really lightly blocked, so I could probably make it bigger if I wanted to stretch it on some wires, but for now, I love it.

Responses

  1. The shawl, and the colors, are beautiful on you! That’s a great pattern for showing off your yarn, too, I might have to try it sometime – I’ve recently been won over on triangular shawls (had an aversion to them for a while, for whatever reason). I still need to post pictures of the Winter Thaw shawl that I finished, and love!

  2. So beautiful! I went back to your older post to look at your yarn again, and you really did a nice job with it. The striping worked out great as well. It’s projects like these that remind you that you’ll never get tired of creating something beautiful with your own hands.

  3. This is so pretty! And how much do I love that you’re calling it “Laudine”?!

  4. Beautiful! I love the colors and the seed stitch. It looks so happy!

  5. Great scarf. Am loving the handspun. Do you remember how many ounces of roving you started with??


Leave a Reply

Categories

