Posted by: mick | August 19, 2011

FO: Toe-Up Stripeys

Pattern: my own basic toe-up sock with magic cast-on and short row heel, plus 2×2 ribbing and stretchy bind-off

Yarn: Noro Kureyon Sock, almost an entire skein

Needles: KnitPicks US 0

Began:  August 12, 2010; Completed:  May 14, 2011 (Raveled here.)

Notes:  There’s not much to say about these socks.  I cast-on last August after finishing some big projects, and these were my something to knit on between gifts, shawls, etc.  They were fun, and I really love the Kureyon sock.  I’m not sure how well it will wear though; it’s a single, after all.  I’m hoping the nylon in these will make them last, especially since some of my most beloved handknit socks are falling apart.  My sock drawer really needs replenishing, but I’m just not a huge fan of knitting socks.

I split the skein in half by weight, then knitted until I was almost out.  I did some simple, centered increases on the calf when it was time, and these are nearly knee socks.  I tried a new bind-off, and I love it for ribbing; it really bends with the knits and purls.

It was super dark in my apartment when I tried to take photos, but these will have to do until fall.  I simply can’t abide the idea of putting on a pair of wool knee socks right now, but I’m hoping that it’ll be time for them soon enough.

Responses

  1. so happy. love the stripey-ness and the length!

  2. These look great! I love Noro, too.

  3. Those Noro colors are always stunning! I have also worried about that yarn being a single, so I’m interested to see how it holds up. Funny, I just finished similar socks, toe up, knit until I ran out of yarn. Must be the season!

  4. Gorgeous – great colours. I’ve never knitted with Noro, and really need to rectify that.

  5. These are so cute! Love how the stripes worked out.


Leave a Reply

Categories

