Posted by: mick | August 10, 2011

FO: Bridgewater Shawl

Pattern: Bridgewater Shawl by Jared Flood, published in Made in Brooklyn  

Yarn:  JaggerSpun Zephyr Wool/Silk lace weight in Pewter

Needles: Addi Turbo US 3

Began:  January 20, 2011; Completed: May 11, 2011  (Raveled here.)

Notes:  This shawl is rather difficult for me to write about.  On January 20th, I learned of a terrible, traumatic loss that had fallen on two dear friends.  This is the kind of loss that stops one in one’s tracks; I didn’t know what to do or say to comfort them, I wished I could be in MI to help, and I was angry at the universe that something so horrible could happen to two of the most loving, caring people I know.

So, of course, I took to my needles.  I wanted to knit a comfort shawl, but the pattern had to be something that was both simple and intricate, and I wanted the finished product to be something that they could wrap around themselves at once.  I couldn’t hug them, so this shawl was going in my place.  The finished shawl didn’t disappoint; when blocked, it was the size of a full mattress.  Garter stitch is springy.

I took my time with this knit, and it wasn’t easy going.  The yarn and needles are tiny, and this shawl is enormous.  There is also an error in the pattern (detailed on my Ravelry project page) that gave me hours of headaches and restarts.  Through the months that it took to knit it, though, I thought about my two friends, and the little one they’d lost.  I’m not a praying person, but I put all of my wishes for hope, healing, and love into each stitch.

I wrapped it up, tried poorly to explain these feelings to them, and sent it off to MI, where I hoped it would bring a tiny smidgen of comfort.  It’s been months, and I routinely see photos of one of my friends wearing the shawl looped around her neck.  Knowing that it is loved, and that it shows them how much I care, makes me smile.  They are, without a doubt, some of the best people I know, and I’m glad my needles were able to express what I couldn’t.

 

Responses

  1. It’s beautiful. I’m sorry to hear about your friends….I am sending healing thoughts.

  2. It is beautiful. I am so sorry to hear about your friends’ loss. What a lovely and healing gift.

  3. That is a beautiful shawl, and a lovely sentiment to send to share with them. I’m sorry to hear of your friends’ loss — thoughts of healing and comfort to them.

  4. I’m so sorry to hear of your friends’ loss. Many times in these situations we want to DO something, anything, to make it better. I’m glad that, as a knitter, you can put your hands to work to show your sympathy in some small way.

  5. I really think that sometimes all “us knitters” can do is take to our needles when we want to offer comfort. So sorry to hear about their loss…


Leave a Reply

Categories

