Posted by: mick | July 2, 2011

FO: Summer Baby Bean and Cotton Baby Hat

Pattern:  Little Coffee Bean Cardigan by Elizabeth Smith

Yarn:  Knit Picks Shine Worsted in Bachelor Button and Creme Brulee

Needles:  No idea

Notions: yellow buttons from Michael’s.  I need to find a good fabric/button shop out here.

Began:  April 23, 2011;  Completed:  May 1, 2011

Notes:  A few years ago, I was at the age when many of my friends were getting married.  I turn 30 next week, and it seems that near-thirty is the age when all of my friends are procreating.  A good friend from childhood had a shower in May, and now that I’m living closer to home, it meant I could go!

This little sweater was really quick to knit up, and it gave me a needed break from the giant shawl I was knitting at the time.  It’s super cute, and I knitted the smallest size, but it grew a ton when blocking.  I apparently don’t have any clue what size babies are; this thing is huge!  I figure the wee lass, who arrived last month, can wear it for a long time to come.

This yarn was from stash, and I have no complaints.  It knitted up well, it’s super soft, it looked great after a recommended machine wash/dry, and it’ll be easy to care for by a new family.  A few months ago, by bff sent me a huge box of yarn in the mail with a note, asking to give it a good home.  I think she’ll be pleased to see that some of it went to a wee babe.  Also, how much do I win at friends?

Pattern:  Children’s Cotton Hats by Kim Hamlin, published in LMKG

Yarn: same as above

Needles: ??

Began: May 5, 2011; Completed: May 6, 2011

Notes:  I made the tiniest size because I was worried I’d run out of yarn.  The wee lass this went to was born a bit premature, and I hope she can wear this tiny hat a bit this summer.  Baby hats are so much fun to make, and this hat has become by favorite baby pattern.  This is my second time making it, and I’m sure I’ll make many more to come.  Love the i-cord tie!

Responses

  1. Lovely little garments! You do such lovely work! 🙂

  2. Love the color combo, looks great!

  3. That sweater is seriously one of the cutest baby sweaters I’ve ever seen! And yeah, I hear you, ’tis the season for procreation. I swear I see more pregnant women out on the street even.


Leave a Reply

Categories

