Posted by: mick | January 16, 2011

FO: Basia’s Christmas Hat

Pattern:  The Not-Just-For-Chemo Reversible Cloche by Mary Keenan

Yarn: my handspun worsted weight BFL (also used for Mom’s mittens from last winter)

Needles:  no clue

Notions: pretty green, floral button from Field’s Fabrics.  Oh, how I miss Field’s Fabrics.

Began:  November 29, 2010; Completed:  December 3, 2010 (Raveled here.)

 

Notes:  I’ve made a few hats for Mom, but none ever really seemed to fit the bill.  She tends to like bucket hats rather than typical beanies, and so I thought I’d try something new, and a little more stylish, for her Christmas gift.  I searched and searched Ravelry until I stumbled upon this pattern, and it didn’t disappoint.

At times the wording is a little unclear (it could definitely use some good tech editing), but other than those frustrations it was nice pattern.  The finished result is quite cute and reversible, as promised.  I tried the hat on (though it’s rather tiny on my giant heed) in many different iterations, and each style was super cute.  I tied the button on with some scrap yarn so that Mom can mess around with its placement and try different styles as well.  I don’t have any photos of Mom modelling, as we spent all of Christmas day in our pajamas as it should be.  She has worn it since and seems pleased, and that makes me happy.  Knitting is fun, for sure, but keeping the ones I love toasty warm is a definite bonus.

Responses

  1. beautiful.

  2. Love this hat!

  3. Gorgeous yarn = beautiful hat. Cute pattern too!

  4. Hi. Just came across your blog for the first time and I’m really enjoying it. I love the knitting photos and already intend to make several of the recipes you recommend. Thanks!

  5. This is super cute! And a very lovely color.


Leave a Reply

Categories

