Posted by: mick | January 5, 2011

A Very Christopher Christmas


 


Within one day of J’s buying me the bright pink Noro Retro, I found out about Jane Richmond’s anniversary sale. The knitting angels were smiling upon me, because I was hoping to buy her Christopher pattern anyway, and now I had the perfect excuse! The same day I bought the pattern, I cast-on; twenty-four hours later, I had a new winter hat.

Pattern:  Christopher, by Jane Richmond

Yarn:  Noro Retro (under 1.5 skeins) and some leftover BMFA Luscious Single Silk in Stormy Weather

Needles:  US 6

Began:  December 18;  Completed:  December 19 (Raveled here.)

Notes:  This hat really is the perfect winter hat: it’s long enough to cover your ears; it’s double-sided so super warm; it’s reversible, so you really get two hats out of one!  Plus, long-time readers are well aware of my love for stripes, and this pattern really allowed me to play around with some fun color combos.

I culled the stash a bit to find something to go with the bright pink, and I’m so glad I decided upon the BMFA (leftover from my Clapotis for my bff a few years back):  the bright pink stripes break up any pooling, and the mottled fabric looks great with my grey coat.  Here’s a shot of the awesomeness that is the striped side.

After finishing this hat, I immediately cast-on for one for my uncle’s Christmas gift.  His is the neutral stiped (Northhampton in Fawn and some black Ella Rae classic, which I ran out of toward the end.  This explains the plain crown, which he seemed to like).  This one was equally quick to knit.  Then, I knew that my FIL and SIL each had birthdays coming up.  Since we were going to celebrate with them over New Year’s weekend, I thought I’d better have their presents in hand.  For my SIL, I went stash-diving again and chose some leftover Northhampton in Eggplant and Knit Picks Andean Silk in Hollyberry.  The alpaca is soft to her, but itches me, so it’s a win.  Plus, I love the way the sheen of the red stands out on the field of dark purple.  Finally, I headed to the yarn store to buy some Cascade 220 for my FIL.  The man loves Michigan, and who am I to deny him a hat in maize and blue?

 
A Very Christopher Christmas

Originally uploaded by ms. mcgee

This is the first time I’ve knitted a pattern more than once, and the fact that I knitted it four times in under two weeks should show just how awesome it is.  It’s fun, interesting, clever, and a great use for leftovers.  I have a feeling I’ll be knitting more of these babies.  To top it off, each hat was a hit.  I’ve been wearing mine non-stop, and I hope my family members are, too.

Responses

  1. I’m really looking forward to knitting up this pattern. Simple, warm and styling!

  2. look at all these hats! beautiful. i’m going to have to add this to the queue! i love the idea of a 2-in-1 super cozy hat.

  3. I love double-thick hats! I made one several years ago and I wear it pretty much every day once it gets cold. Yours look great!

  4. Fantastic hats! I’ve got that pattern in my Rav cart, jsut waiting to get a few other knits off the needles first.

  5. Wow, you weren’t kidding that the knitting angels were smiling on you! What a fun batch of hats- cheerful and cozy!

  6. oooh, they’re all so pretty! Nothing better than a super warm, super easy to knit hat! I love all the color combinationats.

  7. What great hats! I may have to pick up that pattern.

  8. Mick,
    Gil loves his hat! I am so amazed at the process of two hats in one….what great gifts they were!
    Deb

  9. Those look so warm, and I love the fact that you can stash dive. I have a huge bag of scraps that I can’t bear to throw away, and this looks like a great pattern to highlight some of those. I love the hot pink with the grey! The grey really tones it down, so you don’t have a flashing neon head (although sometimes that’s a good thing, in a snowstorm.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

