Posted by: mick | November 21, 2010

FO: Baby Yoda

Patterns:  Baby Yoda Sweater by Cari Luna and Felted Baby Yoda Hat by Sunshyne Leland

Yarn:  Cascade 220 Superwash for the sweater; Cascade 220 Heathers for the hat

Began:  October 22nd;  Completed:  October 26th (Raveled here and here.)

Notes:  I knew before my nephew was even born that I wanted to knit this costume for his first Halloween.  Not only is this quite possibly the best baby costume I’ve ever seen, but I also knew it would thrill my brother-in-law and sister-in-law, both lovers of all things Star Wars.

The sweater was great and easy to knit, and I’m glad that it’s both big and in a neutral color so that he can wear it all winter.  The hat was also easy to knit.  I handfelted it in our sink, which gave me one heck of a workout.  The only issue I had was stiffening the ears.  The pattern tells you to water down some glue, but I couldn’t figure out the right consistency.  This led to stiffening them three times, with the third time using almost straight glue.  You can see in the photo below that the ears were a little wet still when I shipped it out.  I just wrapped it in some wax paper, and it dried on the trip.

I do have a photo of my wee nephew looking adorable as all get out, but I didn’t want to post it here and break the internet with his cuteness.  Trust me when I tell you that he looked absolutely adorable.

Responses

  1. so awesome! The sweater looks very cozy, I’m sure he’ll enjoy it all winter long.

  2. Thank you for not breaking the internet. I bet the cuteness was off the charts!

  3. So cute! Just the ticket for Star Wars fans. Laura’s absolutely right that the sweater will get worn well beyond costume-time.

  4. Am sure he was a cutie-patootie.

  5. Fantastic!

    As I do not plan on having children, I wonder if I can make a yoda hat for my cats.

    Maybe one day when they REALLY make me cross.. 🙂

  6. AAAAAAH YES BABY YODA! that is Supremely. Awesome.


Leave a Reply

Categories

