Posted by: mick | November 18, 2010

Getting Crafty

First off, thanks so much for all of the kitchen love on my last post!  It was such a fun project, and it does make me really look forward to the more in-depth updates we can do when we eventually buy our own place.

I’m a little behind on the blog posts, mostly due to the end of the semester craze.  It’s particularly intense for me this year, as I’m teaching more classes at one time than I ever have before.  I love my job, so I’m definitely not complaining, but it’s definitely a very busy time.  To that end, I’ve decided to combine two crafty FOs in one post.  Hold onto your butts, internet, because I’m crazy like that!

Here are two crafty endeavors I’ve undertaken recently, in no paritcular order.

Remember that bright yellow ball of Shetland I bought at Rhinebeck?  Well I spun it up a few weeks ago, and ended up with this hank of fluffy goodness.

I’ve got 275 yards of fingering weight, two-ply Shetland.  I like the yarn well enough, though I’m a little disappointed in the color.  The exterior of the ball looked yellow with green tints, but the inside ended up being more orange than yellow.  I split the fiber in half, which ended up giving me one bit of singles that were greenish yellow, and another bobbin of orangey yellow.  The colors are nice and even all spun up, giving me almost a heathered effect, but I’d have preferred more yellow.  Oh well.  I’ve learned my lesson, and will only buy balls of roving if they’re undyed.  In the meantime I’m hoping to make some mittens out of this.

My second project was incredibly quick, easy, and economical.  We haven’t decorated for Christmas here yet, but I did want something a little festive to decorate our front door.  Last Friday night, we sat down to watch a movie and I had a wreath before it was over.

I used this wrapped wreath tutorial, but I couldn’t make the rosettes because I don’t have a hot glue gun.  I have, however, asked for one for Christmas.  I’m super cool like that.  I took a look at my fabric stash and got together a bunch of green scraps and fat quarters, ripped them into approximately one inch strips, and went to town.  Easy, quick, and fun.

So that’s it!  Our apartment is a little more festive and welcoming, though we don’t really have any friends here yet who come to our house.  At least I can show it to you, my lovely fibery friends!

Responses

  1. hooray for festivities — and for the mittens that yellowy yarn will become!

  2. The wreath is very cute — kind of vintage looking! Your handspun is lovely, too. I’m loving shades of gold, yellow, and pumpkin on these chilly grey days.

  3. LOVE it!

    I must try to track down one of those foamy circle things…

  4. Oh my goodness. LOVE!!!! Both yarn and wreath. I’ll definitely be following your lead on the wreath–how gorgeous!

  5. The yellow yarn is so cheery! I remember helping my mom to make those wrapped wreaths — so much fun. Though your color choices are decidedly hip-er than those from 1987.

  6. I’ve been wanting to make a holiday-ish wreath with yarn. I like your fabric version. Loving your handspun, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

