Posted by: mick | September 26, 2010

Knitters Day Out


stash enhancement

Originally uploaded by ms. mcgee

Remember a few months ago when I told you all about this knitting weekend in PA that I was so excited about? Well it was this weekend and it was awesome!

I took two amazing classes, met some fun people, and got some new fiber/yarn in exciting fibers. I didn’t want anything I’ve tried before, so I ended up with a few new blends, then tossed in some BFL fingering weight yarn for good measure.

I took two classes: one was mosaic knitting with none other than Barbara Walker, and the other was an intro to sweater design with Gwen Bortner. These were seriously the highlight of the weekend. It was so amazing to meet Ms. Walker, chat with her, have her sign a book, and get to learn a bit of how her brain works. Gwen’s workshop was absolutely outstanding, too! She is an engaging, funny, kind teacher, and I felt like I learned so much about fit and design from her. If you ever have the opportunity, do take a class with her. I guarantee you will love it.

All in all I came home with some wonderful memories, new fiber, and a whole lot of ideas. Now it’s just a matter of seeing whether or not I can make them happen.

Oh yeah. This also happened: a sweater I knitted mingled with something Barbara Walker knitted. I’ve never felt so underdressed in my life .

Responses

  1. I was just reading your post about being happy every day…. and wanted to say you have the prettiest smile. It is nice to see.

  2. Sounds wonderful, Mick! Are you ever going to wash your cardi again? BW….I am so jealous!!!

  3. I bet you will. Look forward to seeing what you do!

  4. omg Barbara Walker.

  5. Oh, that sounds like terrific fun! Your cardigan looks great, too.

  6. Nice mingling — and thanks for being willing to be my model/example student. You were GREAT!!

    Gwen

  7. I can almost see the little sparks flying between the two sweaters. Oh, knitting celebrities! Does that mean you’re going to be designing your own sweater sometime soon?

  8. Sounds like you had an awesome time–and picked up some great fiber while you were at it! And Barbara Walker? *squeal!* so cool you got to meet her. And that cardigan looks very good on you. 😉

    • I did have a great time, Laura! It was so much fun.

      Thanks about the cardigan 🙂 It’s not my favorite, but it gets lots of wear in the warm weather.

      Hope this finds you well,

      Mick


Leave a Reply

Categories

