Posted by: mick | August 15, 2010

FO: Felicity

Pattern:  Felicity by Wanett Clyde

Yarn:  The Plucky Knitter Worsted Merino in colorway Bug’s Ear

Needles:  US 5 and 7s

Began:  August 8, 2010;  Completed:  August 10, 2010 (Raveled here.)

Notes:  Sometimes yarn and pattern come together to make something really awesome, and this was one of those times.  I bought this yarn directly from Sarah (one of the joys of living in Kalamazoo was getting to know her and watch her business really flourish), and I had my cousin in mind from the get-go.  The bright turquoise and green look lovely with the brown, and I really could see my cousin and her big blue eyes looking lovely in a hat from this yarn.  The colors are really bright, didn’t run at all, and didn’t even really pool.  In the end the hat is incredibly soft, and the yarn was an absolute joy.  It’s also one of the oldest yarns in my stash, and I’m glad I saved it until I found the right pattern.

I thought that this pattern’s slouch and simple design would really show off the yarn, and I was right.  The colors striped up really well, and though there was a tiny bit of pooling once I hit the increase section, the fabric completely hid it.  In the end I just love this hat, and definitely want to make one of my own, perhaps in some of my wool/silk leftovers.  This one is off to an awesome cousin to celebrate her new adventure in nursing school.  Congrats again, D!

Responses

  1. cute hat! and that second picture of you in it is particularly sweet.

  2. well, i’ll tell ya, if sarah needs advertising , she couldn’t do much better than these awesome pics.

    i’m amazed you’re going to give that hat up… although nursing is, admittedly, an admirable and award-worthy pursuit…

  3. Hurrah for hats!!

    It’s perfect. I hope your cousin like it!

  4. I love the hat. It is the perfect pattern to show off the yarn.

  5. So cute! This is great. I made the Felicity and it’s a great fitting hat. I plan to make more – and your pretty stripey version has me thinking about yarn possibilities!

  6. M~ I LOVE this hat on you. Are you sure you can give it away, it could not be more perfect on you!

  7. Very cute! Love the yarn 🙂 I’ve got some Plucky Knitter laceweight singles in my stash — just waiting for the right project…


Leave a Reply

Categories

