Posted by: mick | August 8, 2010

FO: Last Minute Baby Hat

Pattern:  Children’s Cotton Hats by Kim Hamlin, from Last Minute Knitted Gifts

Yarn:  Art Yarns Supermerino, colorway 129, almost 1 full skein

Needles:  US 6

Began:  July 20, 2010  ;  Completed:  July 21, 2010 (Raveled here.)

Notes:  My cousin and his wife just welcomed a baby boy on July 15th, and I wanted to knit the little one a welcome to the Earth gift.  I’ve had this one skein of Supermerino in my stash forever, and thought that its colors (and the fact that it’s superwash) made it perfect for a baby hat for my new wee cousin.

This yarn was a pain in the neck, though, let me tell you.  I tried no fewer than four baby hat patterns, at different gauges and stitch counts, to no avail.  No matter what I did, the yarn pooled terribly.  I expected pooling and was prepared to deal with it, but this was ridiculous: each hat was solid blue on one side, solid peach on the other.  This just wouldn’t do.

Then I stumbled upon this little gem from one of my first knitting books, and it worked out great.  The yarn still pools, but it ends up in thick, spiral stripes which get narrower during the crown decreases.  All in all I think the hat turned out cute, and I have nothing but praise for the pattern, which I think will be really lovely in some handspun.  The yarn, on the other hand, is another story.  It knitted up nicely into a soft fabric, but if I ever use it again I won’t be going for the highly variegated colorways I was drawn to as a noob knitter.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to swatch for another hat in another highly variegated, noobly purchased yarn, because I am a glutton for punishment.

Responses

  1. Well, it turned out to be a lovely little hat! Why does yarn always pool right when you’d prefer it didn’t?


Leave a Reply

Categories

