Posted by: mick | June 29, 2010

Knitter’s Day Out

As some of you may have gathered, my J and I are moving out of Michigan.  We’ve absolutely loved the three years we’ve spent in Kalamazoo, but J’s new job (hooray!) is taking him to central PA.  At first I was going to spend a year here alone to finish up my full-time funding, but after some soul-searching I decided to move to PA with him and work on my degree long distance.

I am so excited about this move for many reasons.  First, we’ll be closer to family and friends, which is a huge plus.  I love that, for the first time in the 5+ years we’ve been together, we’ll be able to visit with all of our family members over the holiday season, rather than taking turns inviting them to our tiny place in either Boston or MI.  We’re also really excited about where we’re going: Harrisburg seems like an awesome city, and we love the small town where we’ll be renting nearby.  This move will also allow me to pursue some new paths I’ve been considering for some time now, all of which are really exciting.

My fellow knitters will understand that, soon after finding an apartment, I checked out my new LYS online (within walking distance from our new place, squeee!), and I stumbled upon what will be my first paid knitting class experience: Knitter’s Day Out.  It’s a weekend in September where you pay to take two classes, get a free lunch, and wander around checking out the local vendors.  This year’s teachers include Gwen Bortner, Karen Frisa, Annie Modesitt, Barbara Walker, Kathy Zimmerman.  Yes, that’s right, those are some huge names!  I already signed up and sent in my check, and chose to take a class with Barbara Walker (you can only choose one class with the featured teachers, and it was such a tough decision as they are all offering some amazing courses ), and I can’t remember what the other one is because my registration form is packed, but it sounded really cool.  Let’s just say that I can’t wait until September, and I’d love to hear from any of you that are considering attending; there are still tons of really awesome classes to choose from.  It should be a really great time, and I’ll get to meet BARBARA WALKER.  So.  Pumped.

It’s pretty clear that we’ve found a great place for us in many ways, which I declared shortly after registering.  It also doesn’t hurt that there are two alpaca farms within our new city’s limits.  PA, here we come!

Responses

  1. i wondered about this…hooray! yippee! aside from all the close to family goodness, you are also much closer to me! (what? a rhinebeck roadtrip? seems possible…)

  2. Yeah, my Mickles and Jason are going to be closer to me! This has been a dream of mine for oh so long. Plus, the town is PERFECT for the two of you! It so has your name all over it. See you soon.

    Love mom XXOO

  3. Congrats on the decision!

    Knitters Day Out looks like a great event – what a wonderful welcome to your new home!

  4. Hi Mick!
    A place that feels just right is awesome! Gil and I are so happy for the both of you..we can’t wait to come and visit and explore new places with you two! Good luck on the move!
    Love, Deb

  5. Knitter’s Day Out looks like so much fun! I hope you love PA, and congrats to your husband on the job.

  6. Walking distance to a yarn store? Are you SURE you didn’t plan that out ahead of time 🙂 I really hope you enjoy your new state and new place! Although it always takes some adjusting, it’s always fun being back in “explorer” mode. Best of luck for the move!

  7. Wow, that sounds awesome! The move to PA seems very, very good.

  8. i said, “r! mick is moving to my dad’s hometown!”

    yeah, that’s not true, i just always think it’s harrisburg… which makes sense, because it sounds WAY cooler there. i predict knitting trumps sewing for a while.

    ps: just listened to your creative to the max mix. it’s seriously one of my favorite mixes.

  9. Barbara Walker!?! Oh my, I am so jealous.


Leave a Reply

Categories

