Posted by: mick | June 14, 2010

Mother’s Day projects!

My mom and my mother-in-law have a lot in common.  Not only are they active, fun-loving, strong women, they’re both very very busy.  This means they often bring an extra bag to work with sneakers/lunch/knitting/etc. in it, and so I knew they’d both be able to use a handmade tote.

I made the Sew Mama Sew tote that I made for my Little, but with a few changes.  First, I used the recommended home decor weight fabric (I chose two different Amy Butler prints to suit their individual tastes).  Second, I was able to make the pocket the correct size.  Here are the bags in their finished state (blue for my MIL, pink for my mom).

Both lovely ladies seem to enjoy the bags, and my mom used it when we were visiting her last week and declared it useful, indeed.  All in all, this was a successful project!  Their mutual declaration of loving the bags, of course, has doomed them both to more handmade gifts in the future.  Mwahahaha.

Responses

  1. I love those prints–what awesome gifts!

  2. i’ve been too zapped to type, but i just loved these & the baby prize when i saw them! you have such a great eye for pattern and color.

  3. Yayyyyyy for totebags! I’m sure they were very much appreciated, because who doesn’t love totebags?? One can never have too many.


Leave a Reply

Categories

