Posted by: mick | June 5, 2010

FO: Hooded Towel and Waschcloth Set

J’s brother and sister-in-law were expecting their first baby at the end of June, and I had a big plan to be the best Auntie Mickles ever and crochet the tiny lad a baby blanket.  I had just gotten all of the yarn when, last Sunday, we got a phone call that the baby had arrived over a month early!  He’s actually almost 7 lbs. and quite healthy, so we were all quite relieved and pleasantly surprised at his early appearance.  He is clearly rather inconsiderate of my crochet plans, however, and never thought what implications his early birth would have on my crafting plans.  How rude.

Since babies can ruin plans and still be insanely adorable, I did what any good aunt would do: took J to the fabric store when the stores opened on Tuesday to get supplies for this set from The Purl Bee; I just couldn’t let this little guy spend his first month without a handmade gift from me.  While I love the delicate floral of the pattern sample, I wanted something more bright and playful.  This became more complicated than I planned, however; as it turns out, J and I have complete opposite taste in fabric.  After about 45 minutes of pooh-poohing each other’s ideas, we found the perfect fabric.  One afternoon later, I had a finished set.

(Pretend that there is an adorable baby snuggled up inside the towel, and that my carpet is not covered with terry cloth fuzzies.  Thanks.)

This set was not the easiest thing I’ve ever sewn, though it is no fault of the pattern, which was very clear.  Mainly I think I struggled because terry cloth is a giant P.I.T.A. to sew with.  It stretches (as the pattern warns) and warps, and I hurled many expletives at the machine and fabric as I went along.  Good thing the baby nephew was nowhere in sight to see what a bad influence I am.  In the end, though, the final product turned out pretty darn cute, if I do say so myself.  Totally worth it for our first nephew.  Welcome to the world, little one!  This warm towel set will have to substitute until we can meet you in person and give you lots of snuggles.

Responses

  1. oh, mick. so sweet! what a lucky nephew.

  2. Mick,
    What an awesome gift….it is clearly the cutest towel and washcloth set I have ever seen…he will absolutely love this, when he gets older it may become his security blanket!
    Love you,
    Deb

  3. Amazing fabric, totally worth the disagreements I think. And Mick? Best aunt ever! x

  4. I love the dinosaur fabric! I actually prefer sewing for babies rather than knitting, because there really aren’t any adult uses for the cute baby fabric patterns. And kudos for braving the terrycloth!

  5. Aw, that’s just adorable! Much cuter than the commercial ones I’ve seen. Sorry to hear the terrycloth is so uncooperative, but your struggle was worth it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

