Posted by: mick | May 30, 2010

FO: Stay-On Booties

Pattern: Stay-On Baby Booties by Knitgirl’s Mother

Yarn:  KPPPM in either colorway 116 or 126 (I lost the ball band for this and one other skein)

Needles:  Addi US 2.5

Began: March 25th, 2010  ; Completed:  April 3rd, 2010 (Raveled here.)

Notes:  I know four different people having babies this June/July, and I wanted to be sure to give them each a little welcoming gift.  I knitted these booties while on my trip to Cleveland back in March, but left them unseamed until a few weeks ago.  I have no excuse but my general laziness.

I made the 3-6 month size, and I did find some problems with the math.  As written, the seam for the back of the leg would not be centered.  At first I thought there must be a reason for this, but it sounds like it’s just a matter of a math error.  I did figure out the numbers to center the seam, and I’ll look for my notes to post those.  Other than that small issue, however, I loved the pattern, and I think the finished booties are pretty adorable.  In this photo they’re uncuffed so they’re more like socks, but Ravelry has tons of photos with them cuffed and looking sweet as pie.

This was a great use of stash yarn, too: the colors knitted up well in the pattern, with the garter stitch breaking up the pooling, and I ended up using up an oddball of yarn.  I wrapped these up and gave them to one of the expecting couples on Friday, and I think the colors will work well for both a baby boy and a baby girl.  Definitely a win all around.

Responses

  1. adorable. i have a few random skeins of koigu that i bought long before i understood what kind of yardage different projects require — would love that math if you find your notes!

    • Amy,

      That’s exactly what happened to me. I bought two skeins as a noob knitter, in two different colors, for two pairs of socks. How embarrassing 🙂

      I hope this finds you well, and I’ll definitely look for those notes!

      Mick

  2. Super cute! What is up with all of these babies lately? It’s like there’s something in the water 🙂 I am always on the lookout for something to use up my leftover sock yarn (and I usually have a lot left over due to my small feet), so this is definitely going in the queue!


Leave a Reply

Categories

