Posted by: mick | May 20, 2010

FO: Little Sis Tote

Though I haven’t spoken about it much on here, a big part of my life is volunteering.  More specifically, I’m a Big Sister to pretty much the coolest kid ever.  My Little and I were matched about a year and a half ago, and this has been one of the most incredible experiences of my life.  At first she was shy, which is understandable, but now she hops in the car, looks at me, and says, “Guess what!”  I love that she trusts me to tell me what’s going on in her life, and we’ve developed a pretty strong friendship.  I’ve learned so much about myself in this process.  If you’ve ever considered volunteering with this wonderful organization, and have an hour a week you can give to a child in need of a friend, I highly suggest you check out their website.

So my awesome Little Sis turned 13 last week (which I absolutely cannot believe), and to mark the momentous occasion I thought I’d make her a gift.  You may recall that I gave her the Rinconada Mitts for Christmas with great success, and so I knew she’d like something handmade.  We took a trip to the fabric store (her first time visiting one!), and she picked out the gorgeous, bright fabric I showed in my last post.  That was months ago, and she’d forgotten all about it, so she was completely surprised when I gave her the tote bag last week.

This tote pattern from Sew Mama Sew was really quite fantastic.  The end result is a roomy, sturdy tote bag that can be used as a grocery bag, beach bag, knitting bag, or book bag (as my Little plans to use it during a summer program).  My only mods were to use a lighter weight cotton, as per my Little’s request, and to make the pocket smaller due to running out of fabric.  The low fabric yardage is my own fault, however; if you buy home decor weight as per the pattern instructions, you’ll have more than enough for a big pocket.

Here I am modelling the tote so you can get an idea of the finished size.  Trust me that my Little wears it even better.

Responses

  1. What an amazing thing to get involved in – she’s very lucky to have you! And very lucky to have such a cool book bag to… Welcome back, I’ve missed you! x


Leave a Reply

Categories

