Posted by: mick | May 18, 2010

Shamefully Overdue

So. . . it’s been a while.  I’ve been up to many fun things, and many not so fun things (namely the end of the semester stress).  How can I update you, you might wonder?  Let’s try everyone’s favorite: a bulleted list!

  • I went to NYC the week after the semester ended to visit my BFF.  It was wonderful to see her, meet her lovely fiancée, and spend some time just hanging out, eating good food, seeing a Broadway show, and not being in Kalamazoo.  I hadn’t left since my trip home last August, and the change of scenery was really refreshing.
  • I’ve been slogging away on my spinning project from my last post, and it’s finally finished.  FO post soon!
  • I’ve also done a wee bit of sewing.  Yes, much happens behind the scenes here.
  • J and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary, which is tough to believe.  This past year has flown by!
  • Finally, and most importantly, my J got a job!  It is tenure-track and everything, and we couldn’t be more excited.  This means job security in a time when that is a rare thing, and we’re both so grateful.  I’m so so proud of him, after seeing him work so hard this year in the face of unemployment.  This means many good things for us, but also one that is a bit of a downer: he’s got to move across the country, while I’ll be staying here to finish up my funding until next spring.  While this makes the most sense both professionally and economically for us, it will most definitely not be easy to spend so much time apart.  I keep telling myself, however, that we’ll be able to visit and have regular Skype dates, and the year will be over before we know it.  Until then I’ll have my Anjanka, my knitting, and my work to keep me busy.

If any of you are still around, thanks for bearing with me over the past few months.  I’m definitely going to try and post more regularly this summer.

Responses

  1. congrats & sobs! r & i had to do the cross country job thing. skype helped tremendously, it made a huge difference to see each other on calls. we used to watch reruns of sitcoms together at night before bed. geeks!

    i’m anxious to see what that gorgeous fabric will become…

  2. congratulations to J! that is a huge deal. bummer about the long distance marriage part, but it sounds like it is just for an academic year — here’s hoping it will fly by. hope your semester is almost over. looking forward to seeing more of that spinning…the pics on ravelry are stunning.

  3. so nice to hear from you again. congrats to j on the job. that is super exciting.

    and i predict that you will get a lot of knitting and spinning done during the year of long distance 😀 looking on the bright side. plus, job security! huzzah!

  4. Happy anniversary first of all, and congrats on J’s new job!!! That’s fantastic! Where will you be next, then? Salmaan and I spent our first year of marriage semi-long distance, I’m here if you ever need a sympathetic ear. Can’t wait to see your FO’s!

  5. Oh my goodness, a tenure track job for J? How wonderful! It’s too bad that it means spending so much time apart, but I’m really happy for you two all the same.


Leave a Reply

Categories

