Posted by: mick | January 14, 2010

FO: Rinconada Mitts

Pattern: Rinconada Mitts by Mary-Heather Cogar  (pattern still in test-knitting stages, so no link just yet.)

Yarn: KnitPicks bare merino fingering weight and Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Merino in Champlain Sunset, leftover from my Monkeys

Needles:  Addi US 1

Began: November 29, 2009  ;  Completed: December 26, 2009 (Raveled here.)

Notes:  When Mary-Heather posted photos of these mitts on her Flickr and called for test-knitters, I jumped at the chance.  I had the bare merino and sock weight leftovers in my stash, and I couldn’t get over how cute the pattern is.  I love M-H’s original version in natural and brown, but I also love my own in variegated colors.  The cream rows and slipped stitches make the sock yarn colors really pop; they look so much brighter to me here than in my socks made with the same yarn.

The pattern isn’t available yet, but should be shortly I believe, and there’s even talk of a matching headband to go with the mitts!  I really recommend it when it’s ready; it’s a quick, easy, and very addictive pattern with great results.  I really couldn’t put these down once I began; they only took a bit of time to make because my finals week got in the way of my knitting time.  Plus, it’s great for sock leftovers, and I know most of us have a bunch of those.  I gifted these to my little sis for Christmas, and she wore them all week to school.  She now informs me that her friends and family, both male and female, are asking for pairs.  So it gets the stamp of approval from the pre-teen set as well!

Responses

  1. mick, these are AWESOME! i loved the original version, and it is so neat to see them in this color pairing. LOVE.

  2. What a cute FO! I’m looking forward to the pattern release!

  3. Ooh! Ooh! Ooh! I love that pattern!! Can’t wait until you’ve finalized and tweeked it!

  4. The mittens are so very lovely. An excellent combination of the colours!

    Annegret

  5. Oooh, those look so great. I am eager for this pattern to come out, because I think it’ll be an awesome way to use up some sock yarn!

  6. These are really gorgeous, Mick!!! That’s so exciting too that you test knit them. I’m excited for this pattern to come out–I would totally make these!

  7. Really cute! Don’t you love fingerless mitts? I’ve been wearing mine all winter, and am about to start another pair. They’re perfect for typing or reading in a cold house.


Leave a Reply

Categories

