Posted by: mick | January 7, 2010

FO: Garter Yoke Sweater


Pattern: Garter Yoke Sweater by Melissa LaBarre

Yarn: Cascade 220 Heathers in Lichen

Notions: 11 yellow, plastic buttons from Fields Fabrics

Needles: Addi Turbo 4s

Began:  September 22, 2009;  Completed:  January 3, 2010 (Raveled here.)

Notes:  This sweater is the culmination of my knit-along with Amy and Laura, which was such a fun experience.  And I love the results!  Words cannot express how much I love this cardigan.  It is soft (note to self: make more sweaters out of Cascade 220), I love the color, and the design is one I’ll wear a lot.  I went with the brighter buttons over the subtle, wooden ones I bought, and I’m so happy with my decision.

My mods were very few.  I lengthened the cardigan a tiny bit so that my final button could be evenly spaced like the others, because I’m annoying like that.  I also placed two decreases every inch, which for me was six rows, after the elbow until I got down to 4 stitches below the smallest size.  This seems like a lot, but I wanted the sleeves to be slim-fitting since the rest of the sweater fits me with about zero ease.  This is now a nice, fitted cardigan and it’s so soft against the skin.  I’ve gained a little weight since I started it so I was worried about the fit, but I’m quite pleased; I love it all buttoned up to show off the bright yellow and it’s soft enough to wear just a tank-top underneath.  I honestly want to knit this cardigan again, right away; it will see a ton of wear.

I’ve got a stack of FOs on my Flickr stream that need documenting, but I love this too much to make it wait.  I came home yesterday from chopping off all my hair and it was dry from blocking, so I slipped it on and J took some photos.  (Thanks, honey!  You did a great job.)

Responses

  1. love the hair — and OH MY GOODNESS, i LOVE this sweater. and those buttons! they are perfect for it. i’m so with you on the cascade 220 — why do i not knit everything out of it?! this is stunning, and i think your sleeve mods look fantastic. hooray for knitalongs!

  2. I love it! It fits you perfectly and I love the happy yellow buttons!

  3. So cute, Mick! The yellow buttons make it so cheery. Nice work.

  4. The sweater is perfect – and the yellow buttons. It seems to be the best sweater for this cold wheather!

    Annegret

  5. The buttons are just perfect!

  6. Stinkin cute!! What a great fit Mick!

  7. Oh, the buttons are just so perfect! Well, the whole sweater is, really.

  8. Ooh, Cascade 220 – I bet that’s a warm sweater. I love how the buttons stand out, and the fit is great (especially the arms). Your hair looks great, too. Short hair is THE BEST.

  9. Cascade 220?! Really? I need to check out this pattern on Ravelry. I don’t know if I already have it favorited or not. But looooving how you knitted it out. Yellow button = yes!

  10. That looks so pretty! I have been eyeying that pattern as potentially my first sweater. Love the buttons!


Leave a Reply

Categories

