Posted by: mick | December 22, 2009

Oh no!

Every year J and I give each other a Christmas ornament for our tree.  When we first moved in together, we didn’t have any, and so the tradition was born.  That year we had to buy two boxes of assorted Christmas balls because we had only two additional ornaments.  I’m happy to say that, after several years together and a few other ornaments we’ve collected, we used those generic Christmas balls as a centerpiece this year because there was no room for them on the tree.

I’m sort of shocked to admit that I’ve never made J his ornament.  Every year I want to, but it’s difficult to find the time to knit him something when I do all of my knitting in the house when he’s around.  This year I was having a hard time finding the perfect ornament, and then I found this tutorial from Elsie Marley for a gingerbread man ornament.  Not just any gingerbread man, but a half-eaten one.  Perfect.

I whipped this ornament up in a few hours at craft night last week, and I’m really pleased with the results.  I subbed in different ribbon because I couldn’t find white mini-rickrack, and I used two large sequins instead of white felt for the eyes.  I also fudged the French knots, because I couldn’t get them to work.  This may be why the one eye is coming off, but I’m calling it a design feature.

The end result is both adorable and creepy, which fits my husband’s dark sense of humor perfectly.  All night I kept holding up the ornament, in various levels of doneness, and exclaiming, “Oh no!” in my best Mr. Bill voice.

Merry Christmas!

Responses

  1. Awwwwwwww, that is just about the cutest thing I have ever seen!

    Merry Christmas!

  2. That is awesome! If you hadn’t said anything, I would have thought the eye was intentional. I mean, if Mr. Gingerbread got in such and altercation that his leg was ripped off, it’s pretty likely he would have lost an eye too.

  3. ha! i love that hanging eye!

  4. Best ornament ever! x

  5. Awesome! I love the hanging eye.


Leave a Reply

Categories

