Posted by: mick | October 25, 2009

WIP: Garter Yoke Cardigan

Laura, Amy, and I had been talking about doing a sweater knitalong for quite some time.  We’d narrowed it down to Melissa LaBarre’s gorgeous Garter Yoke Cardigan, we’d all bought yarn, and we finally set the cast on date for September 22nd.  It seemed quite appropriate to start a sweater on the first day of autumn.

I’ve never done a knitalong before, and it’s been a lot of fun.  We started with lots of emails about sizing, yarn choices, and math for resizing to our own gauge.  It’s been a lot of fun for me watching/talking about our progress.  Over the past few years I’ve gotten to know these two lovely women through their blogs and emails, and it’s neat to see how their yarn choices reflect their personalities and interests: Amy chose to use some of her gorgeous handspun for the yoke, using some of the ton of gorgeous yarn she’s been producing lately, and Laura’s color choice is subdued but cheerful at the same time, which seems appropriate as she has always seemed like a happy, centered soul to me.

My own progress, about a month in, is pictured below.  Let me warn you that the color is way way off; I’m using Cascade 220 Heathers in Lichen, which is a beautiful, muted green heathered with warm browns.  My camera had a really difficult time capturing the color without washing it out, which hasn’t been helped by the gloomy, rainy weather we’ve been having for about a month now.  I really love the color of the yarn; it’s a departure for me from my recent obsession with blue, and I think it’ll make a great, versatile addition to my wardrobe.  I’m a little behind the other ladies I think; I’ve been working on a giant gift project that’s taking up a lot of my time.  I am excited to get back to this project over the coming weeks and see how we all finish up.  So far I’ve been loving this pattern, loving the yarn, and loving sharing the process with two fantastic knitters.  I can’t wait to see your progress, ladies!

GYC wip

Responses

  1. That looks like it will be super cozy!

  2. The project looks very satisfying. I know the color you are using, I made a hat out of the same yarn. It’s super hard to photograph but it’s a wonderful heathery color.

  3. Looks like a good knit to crank away on while watching a good movie!

  4. this looks absolutely lovely. i’m having so much fun KALing too!

  5. WOW, this looks fantastic! I actually saw this colorway in person today, and I see what you mean. It’s difficult to capture its true essence. Your progress has motivated me! I am currently the farthest behind, but hope to catch up by next weekend. A fallish shawl has been distracting me of late. 😉 Congrats on great knitting progress!

  6. It’s looking super! really nice choice for yarn and color – seems like a piece that will match a lot of items in your wardrobe and that will get lots of wear. The best kind! I am so surprised that this is your first knitalong!

  7. On my computer it looks grey and blue – so I’m looking forward to seeing what color the finished project actually is! It looks like a great simple pattern that will go with lots of clothes.

  8. What a great idea! I love that sweater, I have been thinking about knitting it myself. It looks great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

