Posted by: mick | October 9, 2009

FO: Gnomey Sleep Mask

quilty

Pattern: Eye Mask by Amy Butler from In Stitches

Fabric: Blue Gnomes by Heather Ross and some of the coordinating dots fabric

gnomey sideNotes:  I made KV a pillow with this fabric last year for her birthday, and I had big plans to make this eye mask with the remnants for this year.  This was a pretty big step up for me, as my previous sewing practice basically entailed making rectangles.  Badly.  This project involved quilting in straight lines, sewing around curves, and sewing on straps.  While my stitches aren’t perfect by any means, I think the end result turned out rather well.  KV likes it, and that’s what matters.

I learned new skills, had lots of fun, and discovered just how difficult it is to take a photo of yourself while wearing a mask.  D’oh!

IMG_6237

Responses

  1. yay for graduating from rectangles! this is awesome. a friend of mine asked me if i wanted to take a sewing class, so this may be next on the list of crafty things…not that i have any room to stash fabric!

  2. I love the gnomes on this! And your quilting looks pretty darn perfect to me! Nice!

  3. I love it I love it I love it!

  4. This is SO cute! and a great idea too. Love the gnomes.

  5. Congrats on such straight lines! I have been sewing for years, and my lines are still wonky. Is the mask just to block light, or is there something inside? I’ve seen ones that you can warm up – that would be so cozy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

