Posted by: mick | September 27, 2009

FO: Handspun Baby Blue Belle

handspun baby belle

Pattern: Baby Belle, by Cosy (Raveled here.)

Yarn: My own handspun, hand-dyed Corriedale, and some scraps of Valley Yarns Northampton in Lavender

Needles:  US 5s Addi Turbo Lace

Notions: 2 flower buttons from Hobby Lobby

Began: September 2, 2009;   Completed: September 10, 2009

Notes:  Cosy put out a call for handspun versions of her adorable baby sweater pattern, and I couldn’t resist.  I really wanted to spin up something special but, with Patches’ illness and the start of the semester, I had to use my handspun stash.  I’m happy with the way the Corriedale knitted up, and the little random bits of blue make me happy (though I do wish there were more of them; I’ve got to keep that in mind for my next foray into dyeing).  I call it the Baby Blue Belle because I feel any baby wearing it will look like a blueberry.  An adorable, well-dressed blueberry.

There’s not much to say about this pattern; the sheer adorableness speaks for itself.  I’m happy with the project in every way: the pattern is clearly written and easy to knit, and features the garter row color changes that I love in many of Cosy’s designs, and the final product is quite adorable.  It was a fun knit, though I don’t have any good photos as we’ve had bad weather lately.  And now I just need to find someone who will give it a loving home!

On a side note, thank you all so much for your kind words about Patches.  We are making our way without her, though we feel her absence terribly.  I’ve got a lot to catch up on, and I hope you’ll all bear with me as I complete a parade of posts.

Responses

  1. adorable. i love this – the recipient will be a well-dressed blueberry indeed!

  2. Between you and Rooster’s Baby Belle, I now feel the need to use my handspun for one. And I have no babies to dress! Yours is so adorable, I love it!

  3. It’s adorable! Your mentioning of how the baby will look like an adorable, well-dressed blueberry made me think of the Neil Gaiman book, “Blueberry Girl” (which I’ve never read, but have heard is lovely).

  4. […] cosymakes an attempt to speak eloquently on behalf of all things woolie « update and the winners! blue belles October 11, 2009 mick’s lovely baby belle – raveled here and blogged about here. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

