Posted by: mick | September 24, 2009

Patches mow

Patches mow

Originally uploaded by ms. mcgee

I’ve been saving this post for a few days now, unsure how I could find sufficient words to write a tribute to my little mow girl. Patches came into my life a few weeks before my tenth birthday. She was a tiny little barn kitten, fighting and hissing at the big, scary dogs around her. We took her home because, hey, we love spunk. I have never regretted that day, as she quickly became an integral part of the family.

My little girl had been fading fast the past few weeks, ever since I returned from my trip back east. She ate very little (a big change, if you knew her), and eventually we made the decision to have her euthanized this past Sunday.

These past few weeks have been some of the hardest of my entire life. I loved this cat with every fiber of my being: she was my best friend, and got me through many challenges and broken hearts. She looked out for me as much as, if not more than, I looked out for her, and I was happy to be able to return the favor while she was ill. I truly feel that she clung to life until she saw me happily married, and then felt she could leave peacefully knowing I would be all right.

We lived together for 18 years, and every moment with her was filled with joy. Jason and I are choosing to remember her as she was before her illness: happy, healthy, ornery and downright sassy. Patches had a personality much larger than her tiny frame, and our apartment feels quiet without her. She was the best little mow I could imagine, and I feel so blessed to have had her in my life.

Responses

  1. I am so so sorry.

    • Thanks so much for your kind thoughts, Lisa. We are slowly getting back into our regular routine here, but I’m still missing her every single day. Just taking comfort in the hugs and love provided by my husband and other kitty right now,

      Mick

  2. I am so sorry. What a lovely tribute.

  3. oh mick. i’m sorry. thinking of you guys this week — there is something quite unique and important about the way our animals know us/we know them. thank you for sharing your thoughts about patches with us here in blogland.

  4. What a beautiful kitty, I’m sorry she’s gone. Pets truly are family members, and it really sounds like she brightened your life. Most people don’t have the same friends for 18 years, so it really makes life better to have someone to share so much of it with.

  5. Mick, my thoughts are with you and Jason.

  6. Oh, Mick, I’m so sorry. ::hugs::

  7. What a beautiful tribute to Patches, Mick. Everyone who met her, loved her. But you were clearly her “The one”. Love mom XXOO

  8. Mick,

    We are so sorry for your loss. That was a beautiful tribute to Patches. You and she were lucky to find each other and be together for so long.

    xoxo
    Lisa, Artemis, Toscabelle and Ajax

  9. It’s so heart breaking. We know, logically, that we will outlive our pets and that our role is to make their short lives as wonderful as possible. It sounds like you went above and beyond in that respects. But that doesn’t fill the emptiness in our hearts when they are gone. My condolences to you. I shall give my little rescue pups an extra big hug in Patches’ memory.


Leave a Reply

Categories

