Posted by: mick | September 2, 2009

Catching up to do

I’m back from my 3 week long trip back east, and a lot has happened since we left off.  Before I fill everyone in, please let me extend my deepest gratitude for your thoughts, prayers, and well-wishes for my mom.  She is doing spectacularly well and, most importantly, has been declared cancer free and will not need to undergo further treatment.  Go team Basia!

And here, in no particular order, is what’s new with me:

  • I ran, and completed, my first 5k ever this past Saturday.  I’ve been working through the Couch to 5k training program all summer long, and I’m so happy with the results.  While I haven’t lost any weight, my clothes are fitting differently and I’m really enjoying running.  If running is something you’ve ever considered but you’re not sure where or how to begin, give this program a look.  I can’t recommend it enough; the gradual, interval based training made me feel empowered and never discouraged.
  • J and I did our first “real” hike in the Adirondacks with his mom and step-dad.  We had a great time (despite my taking a pretty major spill and hurting my knee/ankle on the way down.  Heavy rain plus tree roots equals me covered in mud).  The climb was difficult, I’m not going to lie, but the view from the top was well worth the climb. the peak
  • I came home to find two new magazines and Made in Brooklyn waiting for me.  I really like the designs in the new IK as well as a few in Vogue Knitting (a shock for me), but goodness gracious Made in Brooklyn is beautiful.  I have been bitten by the colorwork bug.  I think this fall I’ll be tackling my Endpaper Mitts, for which I’ve had the yarn for about two years now.
  • One of my photos from Prague was chosen for the Schmap virtual tourguide of the city.  It’s an Iphone app, but you can see the link with my photo here.  Pretty neat to see my name in (virtual) print!

I do have some knitting (and designing, yikes!) to report, but not nearly as much as I intended.  I lugged tons of yarn and books home, but I definitely overestimated my free-time.  I spent most of my time hanging out with mom and keeping her busy and occupied; she didn’t need nearly as much sleep as I thought she would!  This made for a very social, lovely time helping her recuperate.

So I’m back to my life here in MI, and am spending my time cuddling with the kitties and husband whom I missed so much, knitting, running, reading, taking a daily photo and building my syllabus for the fall.  Classes start one week from yesterday!

Responses

  1. im glad your back and all is good!

  2. So happy to hear the good news about your mom!

  3. yay for your mom, and welcome back! blogland has missed you!

  4. Yay! Glad to hear you’re home and that your mom is doing well.

  5. Welcome back! I’m so glad your mom is doing so well!

  6. I’m so glad your mom is doing well! Congrats on the 5k 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

