Posted by: mick | August 2, 2009

A brief hiatus

I’ve been wanting to write this post for a month now, but have been waiting both for more facts and until the emotional dust settled a bit.  On July 2nd, my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer for a second time (she survived her first bout in spring of 2002).  The news was pretty upsetting at first, but since then she’s received a very positive prognosis: she most likely won’t need chemo and is expected to make a full recovery.  The lack of chemo is due to a surgical option which, while not as physically draining as chemo would have been, will definitely prove a challenging ordeal nonetheless.  My mom (or Basia as most of you know her on here) is one badass woman, and is meeting this challenge with strength, courage, humor and grace.  No one expected any less from her, as she’s always inspired everyone she knows with these qualities, which she possesses in abundance.  I debated whether or not to post this info on here, but in the end I know both she and I will appreciate kind thoughts, prayers, and all around good vibes sent her way over the next few weeks, and in the coming months as she undergoes reconstructive surgery.  I knew I could count on my blog buddies for all of these things.  Thanks, in advance, for all of your support.

The surgery she’s having (this Thursday the 6th) will require a 3-week healing period, during which Basia will be pretty limited in terms of physical activities.  I’m lucky that I’ve got time off this summer, which means I can head home and be with her for some of her recovery time.  I’ve got lots of plans for good, homemade, healthy cooking, gardening, cleaning, and quality time on the sofa with mom.  I’m so lucky that I can be there to help wherever I can, and I know that time with her  family will do mom worlds of good.

This means that I’ll be taking a break from blogging and posting on Flickr for a while.  I won’t be taking a break from knitting, however, as lots of quiet time at home means lots of knitting time.  I laid out my WIPs for packing today, and here’s what I came up with.

WIP packing

(Head on over to my Flickr page for details).

And lest you worry that I’m slacking, never fear: I’ve got 5 comps books already packed in my bag.  So take care, thanks again in advance for your kindness, and I’ll catch up with you all in a few weeks with some knitted FOs to share.

Responses

  1. hey mick — will be thinking lots of you and your mom this month. i’m glad your life allows you to be there with her as she recovers. take care!

  2. Mick,

    My prayers are with you too. I had a lot of reflective time last week while away and put out into the universe lots of positive vibes. Hope I will be able to see you while you are in the area.

    Lisa

  3. Good thoughts to you and your mom. It’s so wonderful that you are able to be with her right now.

  4. I will be wishing your family the very best. I’m glad she’ll have you by her side as she goes through this ordeal. Be good to yourself.

  5. We’ll miss hearing from you, but it’s great that you’re able to go be with your mom now. Best wishes for your mom’s uneventful surgery & recovery. (And of course we’ll all be waiting anxiously to hear of the great knitting progress you’ve made!)

  6. Best of luck to you and your Mum. I hope everything works out for you both in life and knitting!

  7. I’ll be thinking positive thoughts for your mom 🙂 It’s great that you’re able to be with her.

  8. Absolute best wishes to your mom – I hope everything went well this past week. You are definitely lucky to be able to take off and spend the time with her. Take care~~

  9. Awww Mick . . . so sorry to hear your news. BUT . . . it sounds like the news is positive and I know that your mom will draw so much strength from you. Family can be such good medicine!

    Will be thinking of your family with lots of healing thoughts and love,

    xoxo,

    Lindsay

  10. I missed this when you first posted it thanks to my own comps reading (good luck with yours!)

    You and your Basia are most certainly in my thoughts. I hope everything is going well!

  11. Mick, I just read your post after my own (unplanned) haitus. Your mum certainly sounds like a fighter and I’m sure your being with her will be an extra boost. Take care, I’ll be thinking of you x


Leave a Reply

Categories

