Posted by: mick | July 20, 2009

FO: Christine’s Stay-On Baby Booties

stay-on booties

Pattern:  Christine’s Stay-On Baby Booties, by Christine Bourquin

Yarn:  Crazy4Dyeing SlenderSock in colorway Figgy Pudding, remnants from these socks

Needles:  KnitPicks US 0 circulars

Began: May 31, 2009 ; Completed: June 3, 2009 (with the i-cord just completed today, shamefully)  (Raveled here).

Notes:  My friend from college recently had her first baby, and I wanted to send a little something to keep his tootsies warm in the air-conditioned summer.  I finished them before the move, but then the i-cord got waylaid.  I’m ashamed it took me so long, but I put them in the mail today.  The yarn looks rather Christmasy, I know, but I like it for this particular baby as his mom did some service work in Jamaica, so I’m trying to see the colors in that light.  It works, I think.  This is another great pattern, and I love the way they look with the i-cord.  They used up a miniscule amount of yarn; I still have enough left for another pair, I think.  Great use for sock leftovers, and such a cute FO!

I didn’t really change anything on these booties, except for making an i-cord tie rather than crocheting one, as many on Ravelry have opted to do.  This pattern was really fantastic, and has a lovely back-story to it.  I highly recommend it.  This may be my new favorite booty pattern, and I love the way they look with the i-cord.  The booties used up a miniscule amount of yarn; I still have enough left for another pair, I think.

Responses

  1. i love the idea that they will stay on the baby what with the i-cord. Cute pattern, I’ll have to seek it out.

  2. I’d definitely like to swap – what kind of thing would you be interested in?

  3. Cute!

  4. I have knit this pattern before and love it. I think they look like litttle moon boots! Is that Bootsie Collins I hear playing in the background?

  5. absolutely adorable!!! The recipient is going to love them!

  6. Cute boots!


Leave a Reply

Categories

