Posted by: mick | June 27, 2009

What I’m working on

Though the blog has been rather quiet lately, there has been an awful lot happening behind the scenes.  First, J and I are in the process of moving.  While we absolutely love our apartment (LOVE), we’ve decided that it’s wise to downsize due to the economy and our desire to buy a house in a year or two.  So, we’re actually moving to a smaller apartment just upstairs from us.  It is still very cute with lots of character, but I’ll really miss this place.  It’ll all be worth it, though, when we save enough to buy a place of our own.

On the knitting front, I’ve been quite the busy bee.  I have three, count ’em three, WIPs on the needles right now.  Please allow me to present them to you:

WIP numero uno: Leybrun Socks

Mmmm, purpley

I started these, my first socks in Koigu, the night before our rehearsal dinner as a move toward relaxing.  I knitted on the first sock in Prague and en-route to and fro, and finished shortly after our return.  I love the first sock, love the color, and the pattern is fun to knit.  I just have to find the motivation to cast-on for the second one, which is tough because right now most of my knitting time is being spent on

WIP numero dos: Mom’s birthday cardigan

mom's b-day cardi

IMG_5006I’m knitting her this Drops cardigan in KnitPicks Shine Sport, and I’m having a lovely time.  Mom picked this out, and I chose the yarn (the color is just so perfectly “her” I can’t stand it).  The pattern is really quite lovely, though I don’t think it’s been a big hit on Ravelry.  It’s kind of an odd length as written, which may be part of the issue, but that is a very easy fix.  The sweater is coming along nicely, although I’ve twice found mistakes that necessitated ripping out inches of knitting.  I’m teh suck at following patterns, apparently.  The yarn is quite nice, I find, and I’m pleased that it’s machine washable AND dryable.  What a country!  I love the lace on the bottom, so here’s a gratuitous shot of that.

WIP numero tres: Mystery Garter Project

I started this for some friends who are getting married in the foreseeable future.  I won’t say much more, other than it’s garter and it’s going to take me forever.  I don’t want to add photos in case said friends read here.  (If so, hi, kids!  Now mosey away so I can talk about your present some more).

So that’s it on the knitting front.  I’ve also got some big plans for a shrug for yet another soon to be married friend.  This is no secret, as she’s been involved in the planning every step.  I’ve just got to get some appropriate yarn for it and I’m on my way!  And now I’m off to schlep more things upstairs and go buy J a dresser.  Oh, the joys of moving.

Responses

  1. Beautiful projects! I love that lace at the bottom of your mom’s sweater, too.

  2. I am in LoVE with those socks!!! Gorgeous! I’ve been collecting koigu for quite some time now, it’s great yarn. The sweater looks beautiful, too, that leafy lace is really attractive–your mom is so lucky! Good luck with the move, I know what that’s like–hang in there!

  3. Luvin’ the sock and great present for mom dukes!

    And I understand what you mean about downsizing your life to save/make for a new one! Trying to work on that now myself and hopefully get a house soon too!!

    Like you said it will all be worth it! 🙂

  4. Mickles:

    The socks are awesome!! They are so cute. Love the pattern and the color.

    The sweater is gorgeous! I really love love love the color and the pattern is just what I wanted. I love it and can’t wait to wear it and brag that my daugher knitted it just for me. I love you.

    Mom Xxoo

  5. Love the socks! I’ve already added the pattern to my Ravelry queue. The pattern really works with the yarn, which is also beautiful. I have never worked with Koigu, but I guess its reputation exists for a reason. (And how cute is it that your mom comments on your blog and calls you Mickles? I think that sort of mom definitely deserves a sweater.)

  6. The color of your sock is brilliant. I’ve never seen a sock that has made me think “I’d really like to make that” because, generally, socks don’t hold my interest…but your sock is really, really nice, and it definitely looks like something I’d like to make!

    Also, it might be nice to be upstairs–at least, it will probably be less noisy! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

