Posted by: mick | May 4, 2009

FO: Fountain Pen Shawl

FO: Fountain Pen Shawl

Pattern: Fountain Pen Shawl by Susan Lawrence

Source: Interweave Knits Spring 2009

Yarn: Zephyr Wool/Silk Lace Weight, Colorway Pewter

Needles: US 4

Began: February 13, 2009;  Completed: March 24, 2009 (Raveled here).

Notes:  I decided to knit both of my female bridal attendants a shawl, but didn’t necessarily want something matching.  After choosing a Clapotis for KV, I wore my Icarus in front of my cousin Deanna.  She loved it, and so I knew a simple, triangular shawl would be perfect.  I think Icarus’ swaths of stockinette really show off a variegated or semi-solid yarn better, though, and so I looked for something a little lacier, but still relatively simple, for the lovely, silver-colored laceweight I had in stash.  Once I saw this in the Spring IK, I think I cast on within 48 hours.  This shawl is PERFECT.  I love the pattern, which is straightforward and very easily memorized.  The nupps were much easier than I thought they’d be, and I love the effect they produce.

drapey goodnessI only modified this by doing one fewer lace repeat.  I decided this because the shawl on the model is enormous and, while lovely, I think my cousin would prefer a slightly smaller shawl.  I finished this back in March, but had it awaiting a good blocking before wrapping it up.  I tested out the blocking wires on this puppy, and now I’ll never go back.  The fabric is so soft and even, and opened up so nicely on the wires.  I absolutely love the way it turned out, and may end up knitting an exact replica for myself.  This should be easy considering I’ve got most of a cone left of the yarn, even after knitting two shawls in it.  I can see why people love Wool Silk, though; it’s got a great drape, comes in a million colors, and is an absolute bargain.  You can’t go wrong.   I highly recommend this pattern, too,  and think it would make a great beginner’s shawl since there is really one major lace repeat.

So there we go, both of my knitted wedding gifts done and blocked.  I hope the ladies like them!

Responses

  1. Sooo beautiful!! I am going to have to try that yarn & pattern! 🙂

    Both ladies will certainly cherish their wedding gifts! I think it is just so unique and PRICELESS!!!

  2. You are a nupp knittin’ fool! They look great! I may have to add this to my queue.

  3. Absolutely Gorgeous!!! Congrats on completing such a beautiful and significant project. Both attendants are so lucky, and will cherish these heartfelt gifts! I am so impressed by your lace knitting!

  4. Well, I don’t know what a nupp is, but they look great! The motif really does look like fountain pens. The shawl will look great in your wedding, I can’t wait to see the beautiful pictures!

    Are you getting excited to be married??

  5. Oh, I know this is way late, but have you checked out indiebride.com?

  6. Oooh, so pretty! I am going to have to try something with nupps, one of these days.

  7. Lovely! (so is the clapotis)

  8. […] Wedding/Bridesmaid shawls.  Blogged here, here, and here. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

