Posted by: mick | April 30, 2009

Friends I haven’t met yet

The internet is a wondrous thing.  When I started this blog, over two years ago now, I thought it would be a good way to get help with my knitting, learn a few tricks, and become part of a community.  I never imagined, however, that I’d actually develop friendships.  It’s a strange thing to consider a group of women my friends when I’ve never met them or spoken with them on the phone, but I feel the connection all the same.  Whether I’m posting about knitting or just about my silly little life, there is a group of friends who read here, and whose blogs I read, that I can always count on to make me smile and encourage me.  I’ve traded recipes, wedding ideas, rants and raves, and laughs with you through emails and comments, and I smile each time I hear from one of you. Thank you all for reading; I appreciate your voices more than you’ll ever know.

Last week I was having a rough time, just feeling overwhelmed with writing and wedding stuff.  I came home one afternoon to find a loving package from the wonderful Laura.  She included some bare yarn for me and Jason to dye together, as well as some delicious granola that she and her husband made .  (I don’t have a picture because, well, the granola is gone already.  Yum!).  She included the most thoughtful, heartfelt note, wishing us joy on our wedding day.  I cannot tell you how much this meant to me; to know that there is someone out there whom I’ve never met, and may never due to long distance, who cares enough to take some precious time out of her day to send something so sweet along to me and Jason.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart, Laura (and Salmaan!).  People like you are the perks I didn’t know would come with this blog, but for whom I am eternally grateful.

FLS WIPOn a side note, here is a crappy picture of my February Lady Sweater (Ravelry project page).  I’m slogging along on the body; I know this yarn, being a single merino/silk blend, will grow a ton upon washing and wearing.  My gauge is a little bigger than called for anyway, so I am knitting the smallest size which should grow to be about right for me.  Right now, though, it’s a little snug.  The colors are way off due to the insane amounts of rain we’ve been getting, but hopefully I’ll finish it for the honeymoon (assuming we get to go on it due to this Piggy Flu business) and have some nice, sunny photos to share of me in my sweater, enjoying Czech beer with my new husband.

Responses

  1. Internet friends are great. Sometimes I totally forget that I haven’t met these people in person! Getting a comment from one of my regular commenters makes me happy 🙂

    I’m almost done with my FL sweater, and since it’s lace, it will stretch quite a bit, so you should be fine. Yay honeymoon sweater! You are SO CLOSE!

  2. Yay! So glad you enjoyed the granola! We polished off our portion of it pretty quickly as well. I love that cookbook. Thanks for the shout-out, too. I’ll have to second your sentiments–I always look forward to your posts and comments, and no one should ever be too busy to provide thoughtful encouragement to a friend, be they near or far. I am excited to see what you do with the yarn, and even more excited to see the FLS! I just bought some yarn for it! Happy knitting!


Leave a Reply

Categories

