Posted by: mick | April 26, 2009

FO: Jaywalkers

jaywalkers

Pattern: Jaywalker by Grumperina

Yarn: KnitPicks Felici in colorway Provence, about 1.75 skeins

Needles: KnitPicks US 0 circulars

Started:  February 1, 2009  ; Completed: April 21, 2009 (Ravelry project page here.)

Notes:  These were my “Oh-my-goodness-I’m-freaking-out-under-pressure-from-school-and-wedding-planning” socks.  I started them on the first of Feb, and went up to the second size due to my inability to knit socks on anything larger than a size 0 needles.  I’m not very good at knitting a firm fabric, especially with a thin yarn.  After a few days’ knitting, however, I realized the socks were GINORMOUS and so I frogged and started over on the smallest size.  I’m glad I did, because the socks fit like a glove.

The pattern is fantastic; clearly written, clever, and keeps your interest but is also sufficiently mindless, making for good stress relief knitting.  I finished these during finals week last week, and I’m sort of bummed that I can’t wear them.  We’ve finally gotten spring weather in SWMI, it seems.  Of course, I can’t complain at all.  They’ll sit happily in my sock drawer until fall.

stripey goodnessI liked the yarn, for sure.  My almost mother-in-law gave it to me for Christmas, and I knew it’d be perfect in this pattern.  The colors are really fun, and I love the striping.  My only complaint is a weird one: the yarn is a little smelly.  I’ve not used much superwash yarn, and so I’m wondering if it’s due to some chemicals in the treatment process or dyeing process.  Either way, it was minimal, but I noticed it; this yarn doesn’t have the wooly smell that I love.   I’m going to wash them tonight and I’m sure the smell will go away after that.

So that’s it.  An FO, for the first time in a loooooooooong time.  Thanks to everyone for their kind words on my last post, as usual.  You guys are the best.  I turned in my last paper Friday, so now I’ve just got to grade and I’m done!  I may or may not have cast on for an FLS immediately after completing my last pattern.  Anyone want to bet whether or not I can finish it for the honeymoon?  It gets chilly in Prague at night.

Responses

  1. So cute! I love the colors!

  2. YAY!! Done!! with school and the cute socks!! Yep summer is for knitting them and then fall/winter is for wearing them! :o)

    I still GOTTA try out this infamous pattern but I want to do the toe-up version!

    Keep on de-stressing with the great sock knitting! Short and too the point!

  3. I think it’s funny that you said the socks “fit like a glove”! Or maybe they fit… like socks? Hehe.

    I think the yarn was the perfect choice for jaywalkers. The stripes really stand out. Even if you can’t wear them because of the heat, just think of it like you’re stocking up for the next Michigan weather – you can never have too many socks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

