Posted by: mick | April 10, 2009

What I’ll be doing May 26th

I cannot wait for the wedding, and I cannot wait for the honeymoon. It’s going to be so amazing to marry the man I’ve loved since I met him (almost 5 years ago!) and to celebrate with the people we love. It’s going to be equally amazing to spend 5+ days in Prague with J, destressing and relaxing. Did someone say Czech beer tour? I’m looking forward to all of these events so much.

But, to be honest, I’m also looking forward to it all being over. Planning a wedding, even a small, non-traditional one (or possibly ESPECIALLY a small, non-traditional one) is the most time-consuming, stressful process I’ve had to deal with. There are so many people’s opinions and feelings to consider, and so many phone calls to make, and just tons to plan. I’ve spent more time over the past year and a half we’ve been engaged in front of the computer doing wedding research than I care to admit. So while I’m so super excited for the wedding to be here, I’m also super excited for it to be over and for things to go back to “normal.”

With normalcy in mind, I treated myself to a bit of yarn last week. When Amy mentioned her haul at the Webs anniversary sale last week, I immediately went to the site to check it out. I ended up getting some pretty serious deals, all of which I’m very excited about.

Clockwise from top left we have the following:
8 skeins Jo Sharp Classic DK in colorway Tawny for Anais
2 skeins Cascade Eco Wool for Owls
5 skeins Cascade 220 in Burnt Orange for the Drops jacket
6 skeins Cascade 220 Heathers in Lichen for the Garter Yoke Cardigan

I was quite pleased that I got enough yarn for 4 sweaters at a great price. I was, however, a little disappointed in the shipping. Everything got here rather quickly, but the yarn was all shoved into a box with literally no packing material. I’ve never received yarn that wasn’t protected in some way from the elements, and was rather alarmed since it got here in the midst of a lot of rain and snow. Thankfully it stayed dry, but I was pretty surprised. Is this Webs’ typical shipping method? I’ve never ordered from them, so I wasn’t sure; it’s entirely possible that this was a fluke.

Anyhoo, other than that it was a very pleasant shopping experience, and I recommend the sale for deals on great, workhorse yarns. I can’t wait to knit up some lovely fall goodness for myself. I have a feeling this is going to be the summer of the sweater, and I can’t wait! Of course, I’ve got about 60 pages to write over the next two weeks before I can even think of touching the wool, but I love that the box is just waiting patiently for me in the craft room. It’s quite comforting.

Responses

  1. Nice haul, Mic! Looks like you were shopping for my queue 🙂 The orange is yummy.

    You and J are going to LOVE Prague, it is really lovely and the food great. The beer is…oops I just drooled.

  2. ha! You’re right, I hadn’t read this post, yet! I, too, recently bought some yarn for the garter yoke cardigan–jo sharp silkroad dk. Want to do a knitalong on that pattern? It would help me stay focused–I’m only just now glimpsing the finish line on the sweater I cast on in September! Good luck writing this weekend—what’s the topic?

  3. I’ve only ordered once from webs, and the two skeins of Cascade 220 I got arrived in one of those plastic envelopes with no other packaging – this was fine to me though, since the plastic kept out any moisture. It is odd though that they would just throw your yarn in a box! LOVE the color of the Jo Sharp.

    After your wedding you’ll all of sudden have a ton of free time – perfect for knitting.

  4. I luv when you talk about your thoughts/feelings truthfully on what is going on with you, esp. right now re: the wedding. I can’t wait for you to start your new life as a wife!! 🙂

    And GREAT new yarn loot. I have been wanting to do the Owls too but only have 1 hank of the Eco wool leftover from my Hemlock..so trying to do the whole dye lot match yadda yadda yadda haha!

    Would love to do a KAL so that one may be it!! Just have to get some yarn! And of course…after May 26th right?? 🙂

    WEBS does ship there yarn in a box w/o plastic…but it didn’t even darn on me to be alarmed about it until you mentioned it! LOL….good point though! Thank goodness I’ve never had a mishap with them.

    And isn’t it fun to have brand new yarn waiting on ya!!

  5. You can take it from me — Planning a wedding was the WORST! I completely sympathize with you on having the feeling of needing to accomodate everyone in your plans. I let it get to me to the point I was in tears way too much. Try not to let it ruin the last few weeks you have! It goes by way too fast. But trust me, on the day of when it all comes together you won’t even think of all the BS you went through to get there and it will be all worth it!

    You will be old, lame, married, and making babies just like me in no time! LOL

    Have a great time! We will be there in spirit. And please play “the heat is on” in my memory.

  6. Nice haul! Good luck with the writing, and the wedding planning…I totally sympathize with the combination of excitement and desire for it all to be over!


Leave a Reply

Categories

