Posted by: mick | February 15, 2009

Stress much?

Thanks so much for your comments on the wedding shawl!  I had such a hard time putting it away; it’s just so soft and bright.

Anyhoo, this week I’ve felt pretty overwhelmed.  I have some fantastic friends out here (two of whom just threw me the most awesome, poker-themed wedding shower ever!), but it’s been tough on me to not have my family out here for wedding planning stuff (yes, KV, I count you as family, too.).  I didn’t really notice it when we were just running around together early in the planning process, checking out venues and vendors.  Now that I’m doing some things to which Jason can’t accompany me, however, it’s hitting me that my fam isn’t out here.  I start my wedding dress fittings this week, and I’d be lying if I said I’m not going to miss KV and my mom terribly.  I’ll send them photos, and I have friends here that are being awesome and willing to go with me, but it just seems like a big moment.  I know they’re all here in spirit, though.

Anyhoo, it just hit me this past week that we’re getting married SOON.  Like, three months from tomorrow soon.  So, I’ve got lots to do.  I’ve got friends here rallying to help, thankfully, and Jason has been awesome, but my stress level is still at an all-time high (as everyone around me, and a wedding vendor who cancelled very rudely last minute, figures out very quickly).  I’m trying to schedule some more gym time in, as working out my stress has always been the way to go with me.  It helps me feel more centered, and I’ve lost a little weight.  Happy bonus!

jaywalker wipIn this flurry of wedding activity, I’ve also been trying to schedule some time for myself.  Knitting, regardless of the intended recipient, is definitely on that list.  And so, this week I cast on for two new projects.  The first is a pair of socks.  My almost-mother-in-law picked out some bright, cheery Felici for me for Christmas, and I knew right away they’d make some really fun Jaywalkers.   Those bright stripes always make me smile.  I’m almost to the heel turn, and I love knitting on them when my mind can’t handle lace.

Yes, I said lace.  Because apparently the first thing I wanted to do after knitting my biggest lace project ever was cast on for another.  This is a Fountain Pen Shawl (holycrapswoon) from the most recent IK (which is one of my favorite issues ever, I think), which I’m knitting for my lovely cousin Deanna.  She has graciously agreed to be my bridesmaid in May, and this is just a little token of gratitude.  She has a lot of weddings to go to over the next year or two, and I think this pattern is simple enough to work with lots of different looks.  I’m using the leftover Zephyr wool/silk from my Mom’s shawl, only this time on its own.  The colorway is pewter, which is a very pretty light grey.  I think Den will get lots of use out of it.  The pattern is going quickly, which is one of my favorite things about triangular shawls.

fountain pen wipSo that’s it for me.  I’m off to work on more wedding-related crafts and do some Yoga before bed, because I’m all about the stress management these days.  I hope you all had a fantastic weekend and Valentine’s day!  Mine was, as always, awesome because I spent it with my sweetie.

Responses

  1. The shawl is looking good!

  2. Looooooove the socks! And even though I have never knit a shawl before, I don’t know how long I will be able to resist something with “fountain pen” in the name.

    Sorry to hear that you are stressed. You will be married so soon, and then you’ll never have to plan another wedding! I’m sure it will be beautiful 🙂

  3. The shawl for your cousin is going to be beautiful! I am glad you are getting in a little you knitting too…good for the spirits.

  4. the colours in those socks are amazing – no wonder they cheer you up! and as for the wedding stress – deep breaths, it’ll be the big day before you know it… 😉 x

  5. Mick,
    Your wedding shawl is the prettiest lace work I have ever seen. It is going to look beautiful on the beautiful bride. KV is right…it will become an heirloom. Try not to get too stressed…the day is about you and Jason and the rest will work itself out 🙂 If I can do ANYTHING at all to help, just let me know.
    Love you,
    Deb


Leave a Reply

Categories

