Posted by: mick | January 5, 2009

Created in 2008


Created in 2008

Originally uploaded by ms. mcgee

I know I’m a little late with this, but I wanted to do a little year in review/looking forward post.   Looking back, I’m pretty proud of my creative accomplishments this past year.  I tried many new things: crochet, lace knitting, spinning, sewing, and quilting! That’s a lot for one year.

I’m proud of myself for not only trying new things, but for sticking with them. I can’t believe I actually spun yarn that is usable for knitting projects; normally, I’d get so frustrated with myself that I’d have quit way before that happened.  I also am really enjoying the sewing; not pictured are a bandanna and some quilted coasters I made for my future father-in-law for Christmas.

This year, I’ve got some crafty goals that I’ll share for those interested.   I wont’ say resolutions, because that makes them sound like obligations.  I’d like to just say goals, for now, and see if I can tackle any of them.

1.  I’d love to try color work. I’ve got some yarn lined up for a few projects, and my almost mother-in-law got me a few of those neat stranded knitting thimbles that I can’t wait to try out.

2.  Yoked sweaters. I really want to make a yoked sweater or two.

3.  Spending more time spinning, and working on getting a finer, more regular yarn.

4.  Design my own pattern! I’ve got an idea for a yoked cardigan that involves colorwork, so I’ll be working on numbers 1 and 2 first.

5.   Knit more socks. They’re fun to knit, and wearing them always improves my mood.

6.  As always, knit from the stash as much as possible. This shouldn’t be difficult, as I’ve got several sweaters’ worth of yarn and more sock yarn than is normal, I fear.  I actually did really well with this in ’08, but Christmas gifts have filled my Babcie’s footlocker to capacity yet again.

I haven’t blogged recently because a very sudden death has had me a little rocked.  Since then, I’ve been thinking a lot about ways that I’d like to better my personal life, and myself, in the new year.  Loss seems to spur a pensive streak in me.  Here are a few things I’d like to do as much as possible:

1.  Volunteer.  I’ve started this already, and it feels so good.

2.  Stress relief. This will include exercising more regularly, and doing more yoga. They’re a big help, but I have to force myself to find the time.

3.  Spend more time outside.  I really do love running, walking, hiking and biking.  Jason and I are trying to implement a two walk per week minimum.  It won’t be anything strenuous, but just a nice walk where we chat and hold hands and look at the pretty nature.

3.   Spend less time worrying about stressful situations/people, and more time relaxing with the ones that I love.  See the walking plan above.

4.  Have more fun.  Period.  Because nothing beats a good laugh.

So that’s it for me. 2009 will bring our wedding, our honeymoon, and more that I can’t even imagine right now.  I can’t wait to see it all come to fruition.  Happy new year to you and yours, and thanks for reading my ramblings for another year!  Your comments consistently brighten my days.

Responses

  1. I’m sorry to hear about the sudden death – I hope you are okay.

    Have more fun – the best resolution ever! I always try to decide to do or not to do something based on its fun-potential and, when I’m not able to decide for myself in a situation, I always try to find the funnest way to do it. I’ve gotten some grief for my “my life will be as fun as possible” philosophy but I’ve found that I’m a better person for it.

  2. I think that sounds like a pretty awesome list for 2009!

    I’m very sorry to hear you are dealing with the death of someone close to you… I’ve been there and it can really be world changing. Many hugs, and may you have a happy new year!

  3. Sounds like the recipe for a great year! I love this time of year, when the future just stretches out ahead and holds so many possibilities (unlike the time of year we just came from, when duties are defined and we’re trying to finish them all on time.) I hope you have a wonderful year ahead, filled with creativity!

  4. I’m sorry to hear about the sudden death…I hope you’re doing ok. I love these mosaics I’m seeing everywhere! I think your goals (crafty and otherwise) sound like very good ones. Good luck, and I hope 2009 is a wonderful year for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

