Posted by: mick | December 31, 2008

Stashified

So as I mentioned before, Deb (my almost mother-in-law) and her husband gifted me with a KnitPicks gift certificate for Christmas.  So cool!

I wasted no time ordering yarn for a project I’ve been drooling over for quite some time: the Salish Coat.  The pattern is by KnitPicks and was a whopping 1.29 (YES), and I was able to get the yarn with it to boot.  I threw in a chart holder for free shipping, which I think will come in handy many many times.

The color combo in the photo is just gorgeous, but the blue color was sold out.  Instead of waiting, I chose another combo with the help of Jason and his dad.  I decided on the following:

bulky hazlenutThat’s the same brown as in the pattern photo, but the purple is really tough to photograph.  What I’m thinking of doing is switching a bit; making the brown replace the aqua, and have the purple be the accent color.  I think they’ll work well together; the brown is warm and bright, and the purple is deep and cool.  It will look rather different from the pattern, but I think it’ll be a really wearable coat.

deep purpleHappy New Year to all tonight!  Safe travels if you’re going out, and warm bellies if you’re staying in.

Responses

  1. Whoooaa!! Great New Year project!! ;o)

  2. gorgeous coat – and very you! (how weird is it that i instantly thought that..?) – and the perfect way to start the new year x

  3. Ooooh, colorwork, you are very brave! I just bought some of the wool of the andes bulky for the garnstudio jacket that everyone is making. I’m interested to see what you think of the yarn. (Although I already bought it, so I hope you like it, at least for my sake!)

  4. Oooh, what an exciting gift! I can’t wait to see how it looks knit up in those colors.


Leave a Reply

Categories

