Posted by: mick | December 11, 2008

FO: Turn a Slouch

turn a square slouchy

Pattern: Turn a Square by Jared Flood

Yarn: Mission Falls 1824 Wool in grey and navy, under one skein each

Needles: US 4, US 5

Began: November 27th; Completed: November 28th

Notes:  There isn’t much to say about this pattern.  People love it, and I can see why.  It’s well-written and fun to knit, and boy did it knit up quickly!

This hat was to be a gift for KVHer favorite hat was destroyed by her cleaners, but she didn’t want to let it go.  Poor girl was wearing this hat full of holes around the cold New York streets.  A knitter to the rescue!  I settled on this pattern and the yarn choices to match her favorite hat as closely as possible, and I think they came out quite similar.  I love the hat in self-striping and semi-solid yarns, but I loved it just as much in these colors.  The stripes are nice and crisp, and suit KV’s style perfectly.  Also, I was sure to choose a superwash yarn so that her cleaners don’t destroy this one, too.  Should be safe and sound!

slouchy squaresMy gauge was a little off even after going down two needle sizes, but I kept it that way.  KV likes her hats slouchy, and so I just kept going with my larger gauge.  It definitely is a different look from Jared’s original, but I think it’s quite cute.  Ignore my goofy face in the photos; I don’t pull off the slouch so well, but my girl rocks it to perfection.

I cast-on on Thanksgiving day, and bound off the next day.  Simple and quick.  I took the photos a few weeks ago, but didn’t want to post this until KV received the hat in the mail.  She got it today, so yay!  Definitely a recommended pattern; I’ll be making up one of these for myself over break, for sure, though in a tighter gauge.  And it made me happy to send a hat knitted with love to my best friend, keeping her cute head warm during the cold NYC winter.

Responses

  1. Oh my goodness, your blog appears to be snowing! Also, that looks like a great hat…how sweet of you to knit a replacement for your friend’s destroyed favorite hat. I think I am not so much a slouchy-hat person, either.

  2. Super cute!

  3. I love the shape of that hat – the “Train Tam” pattern has a very similar shape. Just slouchy enough – ohmygodilovehatssomuch.

  4. I’ve had trouble getting gauge for this pattern too. The first one turned out huge!

  5. Great hat . . . but what about that sweater you’re wearing? That thing looks awesome! Details please 🙂

    PS – Hope you’re surviving the end of school!


Leave a Reply

Categories

