Posted by: mick | November 14, 2008

FO: Aiblihn

Aibhlinn FO

Pattern: Aibhlinn by Mary Burr

Yarn: The Plucky Knitter 80/20 Merino/Cashmere DK, colorway Harvest

Needles: Addi Turbo US 4

Began: November 10, 2008  ;  Completed: November 14, 2008

Notes:  I tried this yarn in the eyelet cowl, but it just wasn’t working for me.  The yarn is marked as DK, but is closer to a light worsted in my eyes. I tried Aibhlinn and modified it the way many have on Ravelry: I cast on for 101 stitches and knitted for about 12 inches.  I included the bobbles because, well, bobbles are fun.  I’d never knitted them before, and I had such fun making them!  I think they add some whimsy to the pattern, but many have opted to leave them off with equally beautiful results.

AibhlinnThe pattern was fast, fun, and easy, making for a great quickie project to break up the seaming doldrums of the Engagement Sweater.  That’s right, the collar is done and I’m on to the seaming!  This was my first cowl, but it definitely won’t be my last.  I wear my hair short, and so my neck is often colder than the rest of me.  This is the perfect solution!  It looks really cute I think, in addition to being functional.  Also, it’s just a great way to use up oddball skeins of yarn.  The cowl is the perfect length to scrunch down, and also to pull up over my nose!

I’d been eyeing Aibhlinn for a while, and it worked so well with this yarn. The yarn is really highly variegated, with many shades of green, gold, brown and orange.  It didn’t pool at all, actually, and the ribbing pattern really sings in these colors.  I tried this on and took photos immediately, before weaving in ends, and I’m wearing it while I write this.  The merino and cashmere is perfect to wear against your neck; there is not a hint of itch.  As usual, Sarah’s yarn is just wonderful to knit with.  The colors are gorgeous and just perfectly me.  I did a test knit for her last year and this was the yarn she rewarded me with in return.  It’s got really generous yardage, so I’ll be using the leftovers for a stripe in a hat or something.  It’s just too pretty to not use every last bit!

Responses

  1. Those colors ARE perfect on you.

  2. Cute! I remember when fingerless gloves were “the” thing to knit, last winter I think… now the it thing has been replaced by the cowl. And I have to admit, there’s a good reason why everyone is knitting these! I imagine they knit up fast, and there are so many variations… must. knit. cowl. now.

  3. Cute! Those colors look really great on you.

  4. cute! cute! so cute! perhaps that pattern will go on my list too 🙂

  5. So pretty! I really like the colors. I dig your glasses to!

  6. The cowl is so whimsical, and I love the colors on you! It almost reminds me of something that Boo might have worn on Monster’s Inc.–in a really good way!!! Super-cute!

  7. Beautiful! I’m groeing my hair out to save my neck the winter chills. Maybe a cowl is in order… x


Leave a Reply

Categories

