Posted by: mick | October 24, 2008

I win!

I love when people have blog contests.  What could be better than free yarn, really?  I always enter, but I never win.

Until a few months ago, when Dawn was having a contest.  I entered and promptly forgot about it, and then found out a few weeks ago I won!  It was a destashing contest for her so, when she emailed me to ask my favorite colors, I expected an odd skein or two.  Two skeins of yarn is so generous, in my book, since I have a hard time parting with any of my stash.

So imagine my surprise when I came home one day this week and got this in the mail:

So sweet of her, right?  Well even sweeter when I realized she sent me a FULL BAG.  That’s right, ten skeins, over 1300 yards, completely untouched, of the brightest (and most difficult to photograph; the color is brighter than in the above photo) bottle green, superwash DK yarn.  I’m so excited!  I sat and looked through my queue but couldn’t come up with a good pattern to match, and then stayed up late that night sketching design ideas in my head.

I’ve got a definite design brewing and, oh, is it zany.  It’ll take a while to appear on this blog, but I’m so excited to really do my first design.  Thanks so much for the generosity and the inspiration, Dawn!  You made my week!

Responses

  1. That’s amazing, a whole sweater’s worth of yarn! I’ve always wanted to design my own sweater, so I’m interested to see what you come up with.

  2. Cool, Mick. It’s so much when you win something, isn’t it? I can’t wait to see what you are going to make with that beautiful green yarn. Yum, green is my favorite color!!!! I know it’s one of your favorites too. Have fun knitting!!! Love Basia

  3. Oh, how exciting! I can’t wait to see what you come up with for it.

  4. You’re welcome! Excited to see your design, but will of course be patient. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

