Posted by: mick | October 19, 2008

FO: Handspun Thorpe

Pattern:  Thorpe by Kirsten Kapur

Yarn: My handspun, hand-dyed, bulky Corriedale (my first ever yarn!) about 100-ish yards?; 1/4skein of Artyarns Super Merino, colorway 102 for crocheted edging

Needles: Denise circulars/Takumi DPNs, us size 8; unknown crochet hook

Began: October 10;  Completed: October 13

Notes:  I’ve been going crazy trying to get Jason’s sweater done.  All of that stockinette, on tiny needles and a large sweater, was really killing me.  I was beginning to feel knitting as drudgery, and so I thought a fun, autumnal project would perk me right up.  I’ve been wanting to knit Thorpe for a long time: a hat with ear flaps and little braids.  What’s not to love?  And so, I dug through my stash and realized my first batch of handspun would work perfectly.  Huzzah!

This pattern was really simple and quick; I finished the knitting in 24 hours, and only my mediocre-at-best crocheting skills made this a three day project.  I love the way the handspun made the hat feel a little more rustic: the texture is very uneven, and you can see differences in the skein colors.  I positioned the most green skein in the middle between the two more orange-toned ones, and I like the subtle strip it created.  The Artyarns was chosen by Jason for the contrast color, and I think his instincts were spot-on.  The yellow has bits of red, orange, and green in it which, combined with the orangey-green handspun, makes for a very autumnal hat, indeed.  The hat was appropriate for today’s activities of buying apples and apple cider donuts and running through a corn maze.

Overall, a great, fun, quick project to use up the odd skein of bulky yarn and some scraps, and to break the stockinette duldrums.  I was nervous about knitting with my handspun, but it really did hold up like actual yarn!  After I get over the shock of this, I’ll be sure to cast on with my other batch.  That mohair blend I’ve been working on is all spun and washed, and I’ve got about 260 yards to work with of heavy worsted yarn.  I’m thinking I’ll try my first yoke sweater; any thoughts?  Lolly and Whitney, you are my yoked sweater gurus.  Any good starter patterns out there that would work with a little bit of handspun in the yoke?

Responses

  1. Awesome! I hope my first yarn is knittable.

  2. This is so cool! It looks great with your handspun, seriously great. I’d probably take forever on the crochet part, too…I’m pretty lousy with the crochet.

  3. So very autumnal of you….and totally cute!

  4. You look so warm and toasty!! :o)

  5. Yay, your first sheep-to-hat! It really looks great, and very warm! I’ve never been to a corn maze, but they look like so much fun. I guess I could make a cactus maze in my backyard… but not so much fun. And prickly.

  6. Looks great!! That hat is on my list. It was cold out this weekend, it might just get bumped up to the front of the list!

  7. Great hat (love the handspun)! My husband’s been wanting an earflap hat, so we’ve been looking at Thorpe 🙂 I’ve been wanting to make a yoked sweater using (at least partially) handspun, too, so I’ll be curious to see what you come up with.

    P.S. Our kitties think we’re heated furniture in the fall and winter, too 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

