Posted by: mick | September 19, 2008

BSJ Madness

I apologize for the lack of postage over here lately.  I just wrapped the third week of classes, and it’s taken me some time to settle in to the swing of the semester.  Wow, alliteration much?

In the end of August, I churned out two BSJs in as many weeks.  I finally went to the store last week for buttons to match, and got around to sewing them on, weaving in ends, and washing and blocking everything this week.  And now, I give to you, my first (and second) Baby Surprise Jacket.

Pattern: Baby Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmerman, from Knitting Workshop

Yarn: Version 1: Sarah’s Yarns Fingering Merino/Cashmere 80/20 and The Plucky Knitter fingering Merino (leftover from Icarus), doubled;  Version 2:  Great Adirondack Soxie in Kiwi Kenny, about 1/4 skein, and 1.5 skeins Koigu, both leftover from my Chevron scarf.

Needles: US 2.5 addis

Notions: Cheapo, basic buttons from Hobby Lobby

Notes:  This pattern pretty much speaks for itself.  It’s clear and easy, there is no purling, and it’s completely mesmerizing to see the shape go from blob to decidedly baby-sized sweater.  I threw in some stripes on each, and I’ve got plans for a third using other sock leftovers.

The second, brighter version turned out a bit bigger, due to I think the tightness of the Soxie and perhaps my relaxed hands as I was already used to the pattern.  It’s a fun, easy pattern, very portable, and a great way to use up lightweight leftovers.  I’ll definitely be knitting this again and again for sure.

Responses

  1. Oooh, they both look great! I should really knit one of those up…maybe out of some of my variegated sock yarn that I’m not so sure I want to turn into socks?

  2. They are both very bright and cute! They could even make an ugly baby cute… whoops, I mean, there are no ugly babies…

    This pattern is definitely on my list for the next cold baby that presents itself.

  3. Ooh yeah…I was SO suppose to be knitting BSJ this month! LOL

    Love that you made two! I hear they are addictive!!

  4. okay, i’m sold. i wanna knit a baby ambush jacket (i like jason’s edit :). if all i’ve ever done are scarves and hats, do you think i could survive this pattern?

  5. love love love that crazy bright green one!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

