Posted by: mick | July 29, 2008

FO: Clapotis for KV

Pattern: Clapotis by Kate Gilbert

Yarn: Luscious Single Silk by Blue Moon Fiber Arts, colorway Stormy Weather (1.5 skeins)

Needles: Denise 6s

Began: June 12, 2008; Completed: July 22, 2008

Notes: This is a really popular pattern, but it has never been one that really spoke to me. Sure, it’s very pretty, but I wasn’t really sold on the shape; the shawl seemed too big or something, perhaps too heavy. After knitting it, however, I’m a believer. Even though it was rather warm outside, I really loved wrapping this around me. It’s the perfect size, and it will definitely warm you up. The dropped stitches create a lot of visual interest, and also make the drape just lovely. I knitted it to specs precisely, except I purled the drop stitches to make life easier and avoid the crapton of stitch markers.

I knitted this version for my KV, aka my Maid of Honor, aka Chief of Awesome, to wear at the wedding. Our colors (I can’t believe I have ‘colors;’ never thought that would be something I’d do) are yellow and grey and, since my two ladies in the wedding are wearing yellow dresses, I thought this would be nice. KV picked out the pattern and I found the yarn. It was pooling a bit at first, so I alternated skeins, which helped for the most part. The dropped stitches also break up the pooling, and the stripes being on the bias really make things look interesting. The finished shawl is beautiful and unique, just like my KV, and I hope she likes it.

The yarn is heaven to work with. It’s 50/50 merino/silk, just like the recommended Lion and Lamb, but is much less expensive. It comes in a variety of colorways and is just lovely; I definitely recommend this as a fantastic sub for the recommended yarn. The hanks are incredibly generous at 500 yds apiece, and I was left with about half of one; that means I’ll be making a lovely cowl or something for myself out of the leftovers. All of that merino and silk begs to be worn against the skin.

So there it is, KV. I hope you like it and will wear it long after the wedding. I’m jealous of it, and will definitely be knitting one for myself.

Responses

  1. Wow! That is lovely!

  2. I just started a clap this morning, and spotted this and was bowled over. Utterly gorgeous! She’ll love it.

  3. I have been wanting to make this every since it came out, but I have yet to find the perfect yarn. I’ll have to check out the Blue Moon.

    I think the black/white combination is great since it is so versatile! Your maid of honor will be able to wear it with almost any color after the wedding.

  4. Lovely. I adore that colorway. I’ve yet to knit myself a Clap (goes off to the Blue Moon website…).

  5. Oooh, pretty! That yarn does sound like a perfect sub for the Lion and Lamb.

    I really like the necklace you’re wearing in these photos, too!

  6. Wow, Mick. That turned out really great! I’m sure KV will love it! Is Den’s the same pattern? I also love the design of your shawl. Good choice with the lighter shade bead. It kind of blends in but gives the shaw a little bling. Heah, it matches your shoes too! How pretty!!!!!

    Love mom

    Muah!

  7. Gorgeous! KV will love it! I can’t get over how pretty that shade of blue is for your wedding shawl, I can’t wait to see it done. I am for sure going to make a shawl now! You are an inspiration for me, Mick!
    Love,
    Deb

  8. wow, mick, this is beautiful– if i were KV i’d wear it every every EVERY day.

  9. It came out nice Mick and you do look so comfy in it! I see why you will be making one for yourself….shish….you got shucked into the dark side!! HAHA! :o) Can’t wait to see the colors you pick for yourself!

  10. Absolutely beautiful!  As soon as I cast off all those half finished projects I may have to follow your lead…

  11. beautiful. i recently finished my first clap, and i agree — they are so lovely to curl up in. i, too, have been wearing mine in too-warm weather…

  12. Mick! I love it!!! It turned out so lovely!

    You are spinning – you got your wheel!!!! How fun! Sheesh – I really need to catch up on my blog reading!

  13. […] shawls.  Blogged here, here, and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

