Posted by: mick | July 28, 2008

Castonitis

That’s what I have.  In the past few weeks, I’ve finished a bunch of projects.  First there was the Noro scarf, then the Monkeys, and now my Clapotis for KV is blocking and drying.  So Saturday and Sunday night, I did some swatching.

Saturday I swatched for the Central Park Hoodie.  I’m going to follow some tips on Ravelry and make it a non-hoodie, however.  I love hoodies, but the hoods are rarely worn by me, and instead just get bunched uncomfortably under my jackets.  My gauge was a little off, and so I’m going up one size.  This will give me, according to my calculations, 3 inches of positive ease.  I’ve never knitted a cardigan, but I think this sounds about right.  I’ll definitely be using this as a layering piece.

So last night I cast-on, and I’m about halfway through the ribbing.  I’m using the Marr Haven mule spun merino/rambouillet yarn that I bought at last year’s fiber festival.  It’s lanoliny and sheepy, definitely, and undyed, which I love.  I think it’s the perfect match for this sweater.

Secondly, last night I swatched for my wedding shawl!  I finally settled on Arctic Diamonds, but it was a tough choice.  I’m happy with my decision, though, and can’t tell you how lovely it is to knit with this yarn.  Cashmere + silk = heaven.  It feels so soft, especially after the rough wooliness that is the Marr Haven.  If you look closely, you’ll see some beads there.  I bought two different colors, and have decided to go with the lighter of the two.  They actually match the yarn color perfectly, and so they’ll add a little sparkle to the shawl without being flashy.  Normally I don’t think I’m a beaded shawl kind of girl but, hey, it’s my wedding.  I’m going all out.

I’ve also started working on J’s engagement cardigan again, and will knit on it when I want something mindless.  It’s a lot of stockinette, but it’s definitely worth it for my sweetie.

And finally, I’ll leave you with some cute.  We spent an afternoon at the Binder Park Zoo last Thursday, and had an amazing time.  If you’re in the Kalamazoo area and have never been, I can’t recommend it enough.  It’s fun and family friendly, and they do a ton of work with conservation, education, and returning animals to the wild, so I felt like my entrance fee was really going somewhere.  The coolest part of the trip, hands down, was the giraffe feeding.  You can buy biscuits to feed them, and they let you pet them and everything.  The one guy just sticks his ridiculously long tongue over the fence, looks you in the eye, and waits for you to put a biscuit on it.  It was so freaking cool.

Responses

  1. gaw! he’s adorable 😀

  2. Thank you for mentioning our yarn in your blog, hope you enjoy it.

    I loved the photo of the giraffe.
    Barbara

  3. That giraffe is so, so cute. The Arctic Diamonds is utterly gorgeous – you’ll look fab! x

  4. Oh! i love giraffes! so incredibly cute!

  5. brilliant giraffe, but i also love the possesive cat paw on your swatch, just to let you know who’s boss… 😉

  6. Awwwww, that giraffe is just adorable!

  7. I’ve never had cast-on-itis, but I do have a similar probably called starting-too-many-books-itis. So, I understand 🙂

    So, I’m going to have surpass the “cute” comment here and just say that I think that tongue is creepy! It’s just so long… and grey… and {shiver}!

  8. I love the giraffe! My mother-in-law is obsessed with them.

    That Marr Haven yarn sounds utterly delightful. I love the lanoliny, wooly stuff.

    I can’t wait to see how your Arctic Diamonds turns out…it seemed like the perfect pattern for that yarn!

  9. […] as my wedding shawl.  I don’t think you’ve seen it since the swatch I knitted back in July, but here it is.  After finishing my semester, Jason’s sweater, and my other things, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

