Posted by: mick | July 20, 2008

FO: Monkey See, Monkey Do

Pattern: Monkey by Cookie A.

Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill Super Sock in colorway Champlain Sunset

Needles: Knit Picks 0 circs

Began: July 13, 2008 ; Completed: July 20, 2008

Notes: There isn’t a lot to say about this knit. I was bored with my Clapotis, and so decided to cast on for some socks. This was an adventurous knit for me; it was my first time knitting a real sock pattern (I’m usually a sucker for toe-up, generic, stockinette), and it was my first real foray into socks knit top down. I was surprised at the ease of the pattern, and found it lots of fun. I will definitely knit this pattern again, and I don’t think I’ve ever said that about anything I’ve knit. It is easy to follow, fun, and keeps you entertained. This is the quickest I’ve ever knit socks, so I think that speaks to the fun of the pattern. It breaks up variegated yarns quite well, but I’d imagine it would also look lovely in a heathered or solid yarn.

I will say that I loved working with this yarn. Not only are the colors absolutely stunning, but the yarn itself is soft, springy, and has a nice twist. You get great stitch definition with this stuff. It’s also machine washable, which is great. I’ve got enough leftover to make some baby booties or perhaps some footies for me, but I will definitely be buying more of this yarn. It wasn’t splitty at all, contrary to my experience with Schaeffer Anne. I think this will become my go-to sock yarn.

I’ll leave you with the eponymous Monkey pictures. I know I’m a lemming but, man, they do look cute with my mary janes.

Responses

  1. :o( can’t see the pics just red Xs
    Hope you and re-load them! I wanna see!! :o)

  2. Those are lovely! I love your shoes 😀 I just started knitting a pair of Monkey socks for myself. I can’t wait to get them completed!

  3. I am so jealous! My own monkeys were such a disaster. And I have to say I like the shoes almost as much as I like the socks. Super-cute!!

  4. Wow, those are some awesomely bright and colorful socks!

  5. I am distracted by your fabulous shoes! (The socks are pretty cool too.) They sort of remind me of the socks I just finished… bright! It seems like that monkey pattern is a winner… perhaps I will try it!

  6. […] Yarn: KnitPicks bare merino fingering weight and Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Merino in Champlain Sunset, leftover from my Monkeys […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

