Posted by: mick | July 14, 2008

WOH Sunday: Wrapping it up

Today was my last day of “Week of Happy.”  I spent the day in the house, which seems wrong because it was so gorgeous outside.  When we moved in last August, we were dismayed to discover that, out of 13 windows, 6 had screens.  That meant that our apartment could get pretty sweltering, and our landlady agreed to get screens made for the rest of the windows.  The workers came by today at 10 and didn’t leave until 4.  J. and I spent the day in the living room, working our way through Buffy season 2, and I happily unraveled a thrifted red sweater.  It seems appropriate that I spend my last day of mandated creativity/blogging deconstructing a sweater.  I don’t have photos because I completely spaced, but please believe me when I tell you that it’s amazingly soft and fuzzy; it’s a light worsted, ramie/nylon/angora blend, and it’s just wonderful.  The sweater was a shrug so it didn’t yield much, but I’ve definitely got enough for a fall vest.  This is convenient as our apartment now feels like fall.  With the windows open we’re getting the most amazing breeze, and it’s easily ten degrees cooler in here.  We stayed in the rest of the day/night, just basking in the glory of our apartment.

I’ve been feeling a little bored with my knitting lately.  The Clapotis for KV is coming along, but I’ve reached that stage where the pattern is getting a little monotonous.  So tonight I did something a little daring for me: I cast on for a sock.  I’ve only knitted four pair; my first I gave to J., because they were so big for me.  Then I knitted a pair for Pop-Pop and two for myself.  Each was really a no pattern sock; just basic ribbing or stockinette.  Jason gifted me a gorgeous colorway of Cherry Tree Hill Super Sock for Christmas after I first picked up knitting, in colorway Champlain Sunset.  This is so perfect; some of my favorite memories of us involve spending time on that lake when visiting his parents during the summer.  Anyhoo, it’s been languishing in the stash ever since.  I wanted to use it in a lovely pattern, instead of wasting such gorgeous yarn on plain vanilla socks, but I didn’t feel I was good enough yet.  So tonight I took the plunge, and will be turning that gorgeous yarn into a pair of these.  I know that everyone has knit at least one pair, but I’ve always been a little afraid.  I’m really loving the pattern, though, and it’s so gorgeous in the yarn.  Lovely.

So that’s it for my Week of Happy posts.  I just want to thank Marcy for organizing this; it was such a fun week for me.  I’ve been so swamped with work since last September, and all of these creative ideas were just marinading.  This week was a great motivator to make some of them a reality.  I’ve also realized that I’m happier on the days when I get creative, even if it’s in the form of brainstorming an idea.  It keeps me calm.  So I’m going to make an effort to keep this going, even if it’s on a much smaller scale.

On that note, I’m saying goodnight.  I’ll be back soon with sock photos, as well as a photo of the new member of the family.  I’ll give you a few hints: it’s inanimate and fiber related.

Responses

  1. that knitty pic is hi-larious…

    thank you for joining the week of happy. you were such a huge abundant creative inspiration. there were a few days i thought i couldn’t find time, and your creativity always kicked my ass in gear!


Leave a Reply

Categories

